Summer 2016 full-term Academic Calendar

Admissions Deadlines 

 

Thursday, June 30

Deadline for fall freshman admission - Please see Office of Admissions for more information

Freshman students who intend to enroll at Southern Miss for the fall 2016 semester must be offered admission on or before Thursday, June 30.

Friday, Aug. 19Deadline for fall transfer admission - Please see Office of Admissions for more information

Transfer students who intend to enroll at Southern Miss for the fall 2016 semester must be offered admission on or before Friday, August 19.

Tuesday, Aug. 23

Deadline for fall readmission - Please see Office of Admissions for more information 

Previously enrolled students who intend to reenroll at Southern Miss for the fall 2016 semester must be offered readmission on or before Tuesday, August 23.

Advisement dates

 

March 1Priority Advisement for summer and fall
March 28-31Enrollment appointment registration for summer and fall 
Tuesday, April 12Begins open registration for summer and fall 

Academic dates

 
Monday, May 16

Mini session classes begin

Last day to add/drop mini session classes without instructor permission

Last day to drop mini session class and receive 100% financial credit

Tuesday, May 17

Mini session add/drop with instructor permission begins.
Grade of W issued for courses dropped starting this date

No financial credit given for mini session classes starting this date

Tuesday, May 24Last day to withdrawal from mini session classes with a grade of W
Friday, May 27

Last day of mini session classes

Monday, May 30

Memorial Day (Monday night classes begin)

Tuesday, May 31

Day classes begin, including first half-semester (5W1) classes
Add and late registration begin (A $50 late registration fee assessed)

Wednesday, June 1

Last day to add first half-term (5W1) classes without instructor permission

Last day to drop (5W1) classes and receive 100% financial credit

Saturday, June 4

Saturday classes begin

Tuesday, June 7

Last day to drop full term classes and receive 100% financial credit

Last day to add full-term classes without instructor permission

Last day to drop full-term classes without a grade of W

Friday, June 17

Last day to withdraw from the University and receive a grade of W for 5W1 classes

(After the withdraw deadline, students will not have the option to request permission to drop or withdraw. After this date, the grade a student has earned will appear on the official transcript.)

Wednesday, June 29

Last day of  and final examinations for first half-semester (5W1) classes

Midpoint in semester

Thursday, June 30Second half-semester (5W2) classes begin
Friday, July 1

Last day to add second half-semester (5W2) classes without instructor permission
Last day to drop (5W2) courses and receive 100% financial credit

Last day to file application for degree for fall 2016 commencement

Monday, July 4

Independence Day holiday (Day and night classes do not meet)

Friday, July 8

Last day to withdraw from the University and receive a grade of W for full term courses

(After the withdraw deadline, students will not have the option to request permission to drop or withdraw. After this date, the grade a student has earned will appear on the official transcript.)

Tuesday, July 19

Last day to withdraw from second half-semester (5W2) classes with a grade of W

Tuesday, July 26Tuesday night class examinations
Wednesday, July 27Wednesday night class examinations
Thursday, July 28

Thursday night class examinations

Friday, July 29

Last day of full term and second half-term (5W2) classes

Monday night exams

(Required Independence holiday make up day)

Saturday, July 30

Saturday examinations

Monday - Friday,
August 1-5

Full-term and 5W2 final exams
Saturday, Aug. 6Residence halls close at noon
Monday, Aug. 8Final faculty grade submission due into SOAR by 11:00 a.m.
Tuesday-Wednesday,
Aug. 9-10
Registrar’s Office processes end of term grades.
Wednesday, Aug. 10Grades available to view in SOAR for students completing their course evaluations.