Directory & Services

ORA is divided into four functional units:

  • Funding and Information Services — assistance with identification of funding sources, funding databases (Pivot and GrantSearch), information dissemination, limited submission coordination, ORA website maintenance, the Reporter, and more 
  • Proposal and Award Management — budget development, proposal submission, award negotiation and acceptance, subawards, project modifications such as time extensions
  • Financial Reporting and Audit — expense review and approval, cost transfer approvals, effort certification, invoice preparation, financial reporting, payment deposits, project closeout, audit management, F&A and salary recovery distributions, and more
  • Systems and Technology — supports all internal systems used by ORA, SOARFIN queries, local ORA desktop support, and more

— Marcia Landen (marcia.landen@usm.edu)
Associate Vice President for Research

 

UNITS & STAFF

Funding & Information Services 

J. Syd Conner (syd.conner@usm.edu
Information Specialist

Proposal & Award Management

T. Michelle Shows (michelle.shows@usm.edu
Director

The Proposal & Award Management (PAM) unit's staff are assigned to specific departments, centers, or other units. If you have questions about whom to contact, call us at 601.266.4119 or email us at sponsoredprograms@usm.edu.

For assistance with Proposals & Contracts:

Jason Edwards (jason.edwards@usm.edu)
   Grants & Contracts Administrator

Omaria Gray (omaria.gray@usm.edu)
   Grants & Contracts Administrator

Stephanie Guest (stephanie.guest@usm.edu)
  
Grants & Contracts Coordinator

Darlene Ramsey (darlene.ramsey@usm.edu)
   Grants & Contracts Coordinator

Tymika Rushing (tymika.rushing@usm.edu
   Grants & Contracts Coordinator 

Tyson Silas (tyson.silas@usm.edu
   Grants & Contracts Coordinator

David J. Walker (david.j.walker@usm.edu
   Assistant Director

For assistance with Subaward Monitoring and Time & Effort Reporting:

Jeannene Garbee (jeannene.garbee@usm.edu)
   Grants & Contracts Specialist

Avonelle Pugh (avonelle.pugh@usm.edu)
   Associate Director

Financial Reporting & Audit

Corrie R. Stringer, MPA (corrie.thompson@usm.edu
Director

For assistance with restricted fund expenditures, invoices, financial reports, project closeout, and audits:  

Kimberly Brandon (kimberly.brandon@usm.edu)
   Accountant: Fixed Price Projects, State &
   Business/Industry Agencies

Cori Clinton (cori.clinton@usm.edu)
   Accounts Receivable Accountant

Shannon Davis (shannon.davis@usm.edu)
   Accountant: Fixed Price Projects, State & 
   Business/Industry Agencies

Haley Freeman (haley.freeman@usm.edu)
   Senior Accountant: Federal Agencies, Letters of Credit

Neta Hession (neta.hession@usm.edu)
   Assistant Director: Salary Recovery

Nacoshia Mark (nacoshia.mark@usm.edu)
   Accountant

Jennifer L. Schmidt (jennifer.schmidt@usm.edu)
   Accountant: Fixed Price Projects, State & 
   Business/Industry Agencies

Samantha Steinberg (samantha.steinberg@usm.edu)
   Accountant: Fixed Price Projects, State & 
   Business/Industry Agencies

Systems & Technology

Jennifer Wilson (jennifer.wilson@usm.edu)
Technology Manager

Central Office Staff

Mary Green (mary.green@usm.edu)
   Database Coordinator

Gale Pigott (gale.pigott@usm.edu
   Administrative Assistant

Heather Richey (heather.richey@usm.edu
   Technology & Budget Specialist

 

^ Back to Top

 

ORA PRINCIPLES & SERVICES

ORA Principles

  • to provide visible leadership in sponsored project development, administration, and compliance
  • to offer service that is responsive to the current and projected needs of Southern Miss faculty and staff
  • to supply differential assistance that reflects individual faculty and staff needs and experience with sponsored projects
  • to support the pursuit and administration of external funds to advance the University's mission

ORA Services

  • provide timely information on funding opportunities
  • contribute to development of proposals
  • support principal investigators (PIs) by providing information, interpretation, and guidance from proposal preparation through close-out of the award
  • process and submit proposals in an accurate, timely manner
  • ensure that accounts for funded projects are in place as quickly as possible
  • provide information on contracts and subcontracts
  • verify that sponsored activities are conducted in compliance with state, federal, and university requirements
  • develop and ensure compliance with university policies related to external funding
  • ensure cost-sharing commitments are documented
  • capture, analyze and report pertinent financial data to the administration
  • assist in preparation of the University's facilities and administrative costs rates  
  • prepare financial billings and reports
  • collect and monitor payments from sponsor
  • manage audits of externally funded projects

^ Back to Top