Internal Awards

For information about the USM Proposal Development Grant Program and the USM Research Travel Program, go to the Vice President for Research website.


Innovation Awards

Innovation Awards celebrate the outstanding scholarly careers of our most productive and influential faculty members in the areas of basic research, applied research, creative activities, and academic partnerships. Additional Innovation Awards categories are open to non-tenured faculty, staff, graduate students and external entities.

The University Research Council solicits nominations from each dean for these annual awards. Faculty can make recommendations to their chairs, who provide names to the deans. Deans consult with their College Research Committee to narrow the field to two nominees per category and send their names to the URC for selection.

Download a list of Innovation Award recipients from 1997 to 2017.