About University Police

The University of Southern Mississippi Police Department (UPD) is the police force of original jurisdiction on campus.  The Hattiesburg Division is staffed by 26 duly sworn, state-certified police officers with full arrest powers. The Gulf Coast Division is staffed by five duly sworn, state-certified police officers with full arrest powers and seven Security Officers who patrol the Long Beach campus, Gulf Coast Research Lab, and Cedar Point.

 Patrol and dispatch services are provides 24 hours a day with access to local emergency services. Each officer has successfully completed the state’s basic law enforcement academy and regularly attends other advanced and in-service training programs. The Hattiesburg division employs a full-time staff of 14 residence hall security guards, six radio dispatchers and other support personnel.

The UPD also works very closely with other law enforcement agencies, including the Hattiesburg Police Department, Long Beach Police Department, Ocean Springs Police Department, Forrest County Sheriff’s Department, Harrison County Sheriff’s Department, Jackson County Sheriff’s Department, Mississippi Highway Patrol, Mississippi Bureau of Narcotics, Mississippi Alcohol Beverage Control and the local FBI office.

The University Of Southern Mississippi strives to provide a safe living, learning and working environment for its students, faculty and staff.

Emergency operations and communications plans ensure timely and appropriate assessment, response and information dissemination in the event an emergency incident occurs.

For more information