Retention Initiatives


The LSMAMP program is one of the National Science Foundation’s flagship initiatives for helping our nation meet its science, technology, engineering and mathematics workforce needs for the 21st century. The program is a multidisciplinary, comprehensive, undergraduate program intended to increase the quantity and quality of underrepresented minority students completing baccalaureate degrees and pursuing graduate degrees in the STEM disciplines.

The LSMAMP consortium is comprised of Jackson State University, the University of Mississippi, Mississippi State University, Mississippi Valley State University, Alcorn State University, Tougaloo College, Hinds Community College and The University of Southern Mississippi.

Student in the program take part in:

  • Academic training sessions
  • Research activities with STEM faculty
  • Regional and national research conferences
  • Community service activities
  • Select students, as LSAMP Scholars, receive financial support for their LSMAMP activities


The Students Success Center is committed to helping first-year students have a successful first year at Southern Miss and assisting all undergraduate students down the path toward timely graduation. The Student Success Center provides intentional communication, programming and services for undergraduate students that help foster a climate for success in college. The Student Success Center also serves as a source of referral to other appropriate campus units and as a place of general support for students who need assistance.

At present, the major areas of focus for the Student Success Center are the First Year Initiative for freshmen, academic advisement and counseling for undeclared majors, Student Support Services, and the McNair Scholars Program.