Speech and Hearing Sciences

2017 SHS Awards

The College of Health Awards Night was held on April 6th in the Trent Lott Center. Rachel Rogers received the Peggy Revels Outstanding Senior Award; the award was presented by Peggy's granddaughter, Dr. Peggy Boles. Steven Williams received the Helen Heidelburg-CulleferAward which is sponsored by the Hattiesburg Sertoma Club. Hailey Johnston was chosen as this year's outstanding Speech-Language Pathology Graduate Student, and Christina Santare was named as this year's Outstanding Early Oral Intervention Graduate Student; both Hailey's and Christina's award were also sponsored by the Hattiesburg Sertoma Club.

2017 Awards Ceremony
(l to r) Dr. Peggy Boles, Dr. Kim Ward, Dr. Kelly Metz and Dean Trent Gould at the 2017 COH Awards Ceremony

2017 Award Recipients

We should note that in addition to the Sertoma award, Steven was named the 2017 Outstanding Audiology Graduate Student by the Mississippi Speech-Language-Hearing Association (MISHA). Alexa Chisholm was named as the outstanding Speech-Language-Pathology Graduate Student for 2017 by MISHA.

Outstanding graduate student recognition went to Chelsea Butler (Audiology), Shakeika Everett (Early Oral Intervention) and Caroline Little (Speech-Language Pathology).

Congratulations to all of our 2017 award recipients... and many thanks to our award sponsors for their part in recognizing these students.

2017 White Coat Ceremony

The department's annual White Coat Ceremony was held separately in the Thad Cochran Center On Saturday, April 22nd. Administrative guests, faculty, families and friends joined together to recognize Mary Brunson, Mason Mault, Anna Scarbrough and Stephen Williams as this year's White Coat honorees (see photo below). Charles Cullefer, representing the Hattiesburg Sertoma Club, was on hand to present Stephen Williams with this year's Helen Heidelberg-Cullefer Memorial Award. Many thanks, Dr. Ward, for coordinating the details of this year's program.

2017 WC Ceremony
(l to r) Dr. Kathy Yadrick, Associate Dean, College of Health, Stephen Williams, Anna Scarbrough, Mason Mault, Mary Brunson, Dr. Amy Chasteen-Miller, Vice Provost for Academic Affairs