Resource Quick List

 

Academic/Teaching

Office of the Provost

Chief academic officer, oversees educational programs

Dr. Steven Moser, Provost and Senior Vice President

steven.moser@usm.edu

601.266.5002

Center for Faculty Development

Seminars and resources on pedagogy, preparing for tenure, research and funding, advising, and other faculty interests

Dr. Cindy Blackwell, cindy.s.blackwell@usm.edu

Bonnie Cooper, bonnie.cooper@usm.edu

601.266.4688 

SOAR PeopleSoft Training

Training for roster access, grade entry, student records

Marlissa Northrop, Office of the Provost           

marlissa.northrop@usm.edu              

601.266.6244

Office of Online Learning

Support and training for faculty teaching online, online students, and fully online  programs

Tom Hutchinson, Director

thomas.hutchinson@usm.edu

601.266.5518

University Libraries

Services include classroom instruction, course reserves, and customized research guides

Tisha Zelner, Head of Public Services

tisha.zelner@usm.edu

601.266.4249

Faculty Senate

A forum for discussion of faculty concerns and an avenue for input from faculty to the University administration; a key partner in shared governance

Submit comments to Senate

Graduate Council

Review of proposals to add, delete, or modify graduate curricula, courses, and program

Academic Council

Review of proposals to add, delete, or modify undergraduate curricula, courses, and programs

 

Barnes and Noble Bookstore

Official University bookstore for textbooks, course material, apparel, gifts, and supplies 

Kathy Hayman, Manager

601.266.4381       

 

Research

Office of Research Administration

Identification of funding opportunities, budget development, proposal and award management for contracts and grants       

Marcia Landen, Associate Vice-President for Research

marcia.landen@usm.edu

601.266.4119

601.266.5002

Office of Research Integrity

Conflict of interest, IRB, animal care and use

Dr. Sam Bruton, Director                                          

Samuel.Bruton@usm.edu

601.266.6756

 

Center for Undergraduate Research

Faculty Affiliate program, Annual Undergraduate Research Symposium, student research grants (SPUR)

 

University Libraries 

Research data management services that assist researchers with making their data discoverable, usable, and preserved

Tisha Zelner, Head of Public Services

tisha.zelner@usm.edu

601.266.4249 

 

Student Support

Office of the Registrar

Registration, degree requirements, grade entry and policies, academic calendars                            

Greg Pierce, Registrar

greg.pierce@usm.edu

601.266.5006

Student Success Website

Resources for faculty, staff, current and prospective students, and families on a range of success topics, including where to find tutoring and other academic assistance

Danielle Sypher-Haley, Web Designer, Academic Affairs

danielle.sypherhaley@usm.edu 

Center for Community and Civic Engagement

Community service and service-learning opportunities; faculty fellows program                           

Christy Arrazattee, Director                                    

christy.arrazattee@usm.edu

601.266.5074

Office of Online Learning

Support and training for faculty teaching online, online students, and fully online  programs

Tom Hutchinson, Director

thomas.hutchinson@usm.edu

601.266.5518

 

New Student and Retention Programs

Orientation, Golden Eagle Welcome Week, and other programs for new students; academic coaching, peer-assisted learning, learning communities, and other retention programming

Katie McBride, Interim Director

kathleen.mcbride@usm.edu

601.266.6405 

Speaking Center

Individualized consultation on presentations, speeches, thesis/dissertation defenses, and other oral communication skills

Laura Stengrim, Director  

laura.stengrim@usm.edu     

601.266.4965

Writing Center

Individualized assistance with writing projects of all kinds

Eugene O. Gordon, Coordinator 

Eugene.Gordon@usm.edu

601.266.4821

Office of Disability Accommodations

Managing accommodations, eligibility, other support services   

Scott Dossett, Director

scott.dossett@usm.edu

601.266.5024 

Counseling Services for Students

Mental health consultation, emergency services, CARES 

Deena Crawford, Director                                        

deena.crawford@usm.edu

601.266.4829

CARES

Non-emergency cases (physical or mental well-being, safety of a student or the community, general student misconduct, academic integrity violations, sexual misconduct)

Deena Crawford, Director                                 

deena.crawford@usm.edu

601.266.4829

University Libraries 

Individualized consultations and drop-in assistance to find articles, books, and more; online subject-based help guides

Tisha Zelner, Head of Public Services

tisha.zelner@usm.edu

 

 

Legal, Health, and Administrative

Institutional Effectiveness

University and program assessment and accreditation

Kathryn Lowery, Director

kathryn.lowery@usm.edu

601.266.6775 

Institutional Research

Institutional data collection, analysis, and distribution

Michelle Arrington, Director

michelle.arrington@usm.edu

601.266.4059 

General Counsel

Legal advice, representation, and information for University

Robert Gholson, General Counsel

Bob.Gholson@usm.edu

601.266-4466

Affirmative Action/Equal Employment Opportunity

Nondiscrimination policies and complaint procedures (age, sex, sexual orientation, color, race, religion, national origin, disability, or Vietnam-Era veteran status)                            

601.266.6618

Title IX

Disparate treatment based on sex, gender, gender identity, sexual orientation; sexual harassment and sexual misconduct

Dr. Rebecca Malley, Title IX Coordinator           

rebecca.malley@usm.edu

601.266.4466 

Travel Policies and Forms

Permission to travel forms, policies regarding reimbursement and travel more generally

 

Health Services

General medical care for students, faculty, and staff

http://www.usm.edu/student-health-services

601.266.5390

Institutional Organizational Chart