Skip navigation

Office of the Vice President for Research

Internal Awards

For information about the USM Proposal Development Grant Program and the USM Research Travel Program, go to the Vice President for Research website.


Innovation Awards

Innovation Awards celebrate the outstanding scholarly careers of our most productive and influential faculty members in the areas of basic research, applied research, creative activities, and academic partnerships. Additional Innovation Awards categories are open to non-tenured faculty, staff, graduate students and external entities.

The University Research Council solicits nominations from each dean for these annual awards. Faculty can make recommendations to their chairs, who provide names to the deans. Deans consult with their College Research Committee to narrow the field to two nominees per category and send their names to the URC for selection.

The 2018 Innovation Awards and Recipients

  • Academic Partnership: Dr. Kyle Zelner, Department of History
  • Basic Research: Dr. Shahid Karim, Department of Biological Sciences
  • Creative Activities: Dr. John Wooton, School of Music
  • Graduate Student: Torie Fowler, School of Mass Communication and Journalism
  • Lifetime Achievement:
  • Dr. Angela Ball, Department of English
  • Dr. H. Edwin Jackson, Department of Anthropology and Sociology

Download a list of Innovation Award recipients from 1997 to 2017.



Contact Us

Office of the Vice President for Research
Aubrey K. Lucas Administration Building, Room 202
118 College Drive, #5116
Hattiesburg, MS 39406

Hattiesburg Campus

Campus Map