Skip navigation

Pine Belt Area Students Recipients of Alpha Phi Alpha Book Scholarship Award

Tue, 05/25/2021 - 13:10pm | By: David Tisdale

Ten students from throughout the Pine Belt were named recipients of a $500 Book Scholarship Award from the Mu Gamma Lambda Chapter of Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc. when the organization and its undergraduate counterpart at The University of Southern Mississippi (USM) hosted the 15th annual Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Virtual Scholarship Awards & Program this spring.

The Book Scholarship Award is central to the chapter’s commitment to the fraternity’s “Go to High School - Go to College” education initiative, established in 1922 with the original goal of supporting the academic success and career goals of young African American males. Today, Alpha Phi Alpha seeks to promote the future success of high school seniors, male and female and from all walks of life, who are preparing to take the next step in their education.

Area recipients of this year’s award from the local chapter were based upon recommendations from their high school academic counselors. 

“Present research places great value in postsecondary education,” said Dr. Marauo Davis, vice president of the chapter, during his keynote address for the program. “School completion heavily impacts the success of young people and is the single best predictor of career and economic security.”

Dr. Eddie Holloway, longtime coordinator of the event, concurred. “We strongly believe in the value and benefit of college completion for the future successes of our youth as we endeavor to promote our ‘Go to High School, Go to College’ initiative. We’re grateful to the many individuals, organizations and businesses who have contributed to make this scholarship program possible.”

Academic Book Scholarship recipients include the following:

*Hattiesburg High School – Ron Dickerson, Blake Johnson and Walton Thompson
*Oak Grove High School – Kelston Seymour
*Forrest County Agricultural High School – Xavier Sandifer
*North Forrest High School – Samaritan Montgomery
*Laurel High School – Jaymar Jackson, II
*Wayne County High School – Kaleb Henry
*East Marion High School – Leigh Smith
*Petal High School – Omarion Carson

For more information about Alpha Phi Alpha’s “Go to High School - Go to College” academic book scholarship and how to support this initiative, contact Dr. Holloway at eddie.hollowayFREEMississippi.