Skip navigation

Nine Individuals to be Honored as Emerging Industry Leaders at 2023 National Sports Safety and Security Conference & Exhibition

Tue, 06/06/2023 - 11:53am | By: NCS⁴ Staff

NCS4 Conference

2023 Emerging Industry Leader Award Recipients

A total of nine professionals will be recognized for their leadership in addressing safety and security issues during the 2023 National Sports Safety and Security Conference & Exhibition on June 27-29 in San Antonio. The event is presented annually by the National Center for Spectator Sports Safety and Security (NCS⁴) at The University of Southern Mississippi.

The Emerging Industry Leader Award recognizes a young professional who has demonstrated outstanding leadership in addressing safety and security issues. In addition to the enhanced safety and security of their venue/event, the recipient’s contributions have set an example for others to follow. The award is sponsored by Momentus Technologies, which provides venue and event management software for venues of all kinds and events of all types.

“The Emerging Industry Leader Award allows professional leagues, NCAA member institutions, marathon and endurance events organizations, and interscholastic athletics programs to honor individuals who have demonstrated outstanding leadership in addressing safety and security related issues,” said Brooke Graves, MSCJ, NREMT, NCS⁴Senior Training Manager and Awards Luncheon Master of Ceremonies. “These contributions involve enhancing safety and security at their venue beyond what is normally required and setting an example for other young aspiring sports security professionals to follow.

Each league or organization selects the criteria and makes the determination as to who will be recognized. Individuals receiving the award include:

  • Michele “Shelly” Weinstein, Medical Operations Coordinator, Marine Corps Marathon Organization
  • Kyle Poore, Security Coordinator, Lincoln Public Schools
  • Brooks Imhoff, CSSP, Director of Event Services, The Schottenstein Center, The Ohio State University
  • Justin Pagan, Manager, Event Security and Team Travel, Chicago Cubs
  • Nicholas Vajen, Director of Safety and Security, Sporting Kansas City
  • Shaun West, Head of Team and Arena Security, National Basketball Association
  • Adrianne Wynne, Director of Security, Golden State Warriors
  • Anthony Kosednar, Cybersecurity Consultant, State Farm Stadium
  • Colleen Iskenian, Facility Security Manager, Philadelphia Eagles

The awards will be presented at an annual Awards Luncheon that takes place on the second day of the conference. The luncheon is sponsored by Evolv Technology, which provides weapons detection systems for security screening.

Make plans to join us and register now. The deadline to register for the conference is June 8. For more information about the awards, visit the awards website.

 About the 14th Annual Conference:

The National Sports Safety and Security Conference & Exhibition will be held June 27-29 at the JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort and Spa in San Antonio, TX. The conference will attract over 450 attendees and 70 exhibitors representing professional sports, intercollegiate athletics, interscholastic athletics, marathon and endurance events, sport and entertainment facilities, and those who provide safety and security products and services to the industry. For more information, visit the conference website.

About NCS:

Established in 2006, the National Center for Spectator Sports Safety and Security (NCS) is the nation's only academic center devoted to the study and practice of sports safety and security. The NCS is partially underwritten by grants from the Department of Homeland Security (DHS) and the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA). The NCS mission focuses on three key pillars – Training and Education, Research, and Outreach. For more information about NCS, call 601.266.6183.