Skip navigation

Eight Individuals to Receive Professional of the Year Award at 2023 National Sports Safety and Security Conference & Exhibition

Tue, 05/23/2023 - 01:00pm | By: NCS⁴ Staff


2023 Professional of the Year Award Recipients

A total of eight professionals will be recognized for their leadership in addressing safety and security issues during the 2023 National Sports Safety and Security Conference & Exhibition on June 27-29 in San Antonio. The event is presented annually by the National Center for Spectator Sports Safety and Security (NCS⁴) at The University of Southern Mississippi (USM).

The Professional of the Year Award recognizes a member of management in the field who has, over the past year, demonstrated outstanding leadership in addressing safety and security issues. In addition to the enhanced safety of their venue/event, the recipient's contributions have set an example for others to follow.

The award is sponsored by Prevent Advisors, a full-service security consulting company with extensive knowledge, expertise, and understanding of the operational aspects of sports and entertainment facilities and venues. They are the first and only company to receive SAFETY Act Designation for a Red Team Assessment Service.

“What a stellar group of professionals we are honoring this year. And there is no greater honor than being recognized by your peers for the work being conducted on a daily basis to ensure the safety and security of all,” said Dr. Stacey A. Hall, NCS⁴ Executive Director and Professor of Sport Management. “These individuals make a difference in our industry, and we look forward to acknowledging their contributions to the field.”

Each league or organization selects the criteria and determines who will be recognized. Individuals receiving the award include:

  • Jan Seeley, Director, Christie Clinic Illinois Race Weekend
  • Nathan Priest, Athletic Director, Morse High School
  • Matt Davidson, Associate Athletic Director, Event Management and Operations, University of Nebraska
  • Jorge Costa, Senior Vice President and Chief Venue Officer, Oracle Park, San Francisco Giants
  • Kevin Clark, Director, Security, D.C. United
  • Blake Paris, Senior Vice President of Public Safety and Guest Experience, Utah Jazz
  • Leah Mastaglio, Senior Assistant General Manager, NRG Park
  • Tim “Tuba” Smith, Director, Festivals and Strategic Initiatives, C3 Presents

The awards will be presented at an annual Awards Luncheon that takes place on the second day of the conference. The luncheon is sponsored by Evolv Technology, which provides weapons detection systems for security screening.

Make plans to join us and register now at the conference website. The deadline to register for the conference is June 8. For more information about the awards, visit the awards website.

About the 14th Annual Conference:

The National Sports Safety and Security Conference & Exhibition will be held June 27-29 at the JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort and Spa in San Antonio, TX. The conference will attract over 450 attendees and 70 exhibitors representing professional sports, intercollegiate athletics, interscholastic athletics, marathon and endurance events, sport and entertainment facilities, and those who provide safety and security products and services to the industry. For more information, visit the conference website.

About NCS:

Established in 2006, the National Center for Spectator Sports Safety and Security (NCS⁴) is the nation's only academic center devoted to the study and practice of sports safety and security. The NCS is partially underwritten by grants from the Department of Homeland Security (DHS) and the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA). The NCS mission focuses on three key pillars – Training and Education, Research, and Outreach. For more information about NCS, call 601.266.6183 or visit the website.