Skip navigation

Coastal USM Celebrates Students, Faculty, Staff

Wed, 04/24/2024 - 09:40am | By: Gabriela Shinskie


The University of Southern Mississippi (USM) Gulf Park Campus celebrated achievements in leadership, success, and community service during the Gulf Coast Awards Ceremony held April 23.

Dr. Jacob Breland, Associate Vice President for Academic Affairs, is proud to celebrate all Coastal USM has and continues to accomplish.

“Awards Day is a special time where we pause with intention to celebrate the dedicated and determined work of our students, faculty, staff, and community members whose collective efforts make the University of Southern Mississippi an exceptional place to learn and work,” Dr. Breland said. “Education is a team effort, and we treasure this opportunity to celebrate the many hands that go into advancing the University’s mission.”

Recipients of recognition at the event include:

  • Friendship Oak: Billy Hewes
  • Butch Oustalet Distinguished Professorship Service: Vincenzo Mistretta
  • Butch Outstalet Distinguished Professorship Teaching: Mary Ellen Askew
  • Butch Outstalet Distinguished Professorship Research: Eric Powell
  • Graduate Assistant of the Year: Peter Kalejaiye
  • Gulf Coast Faculty Council President: Vincenzo Mistretta
  • Outstanding Staff: Dena Temple, Melissa Gilbert, Penny Isgar, Joely Sellers
  • Outstanding Student Organization: MEGSA, David May
  • Three Pillars Award: Dr. Heather Annulis
  • Student Excellence for Leadership: Hailee Nigro, Peter Kalejaiye
  • Hidden Gem Award: Hailee Nigro
  • Students’ Choice Award: Danielle Cotton