Offices of the Provost

Mission of Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs

The Provost is the chief academic officer and the senior university officer next to the President. The Provost is the President’s principal adviser in all matters pertaining to the development and execution of a well-conceived and organized curriculum, administered and taught by a faculty of the highest qualifications. The Provost oversees academic planning and budgeting and works with the Vice Presidents to accomplish the University’s educational objectives.

The mission of the Provost and VPAA’s office is to support and enhance a creative, inclusive, academic environment in which students participating in the university’s diverse teaching, research, and service programs may flourish by acquiring, advancing, and applying knowledge. Along with the Provost, the deans of the colleges of Arts and Letters, Business, Education and Psychology, Health, Honors, Nursing, and Science and Technology; the directors of the University Libraries, Learning Enhancement Center, Correspondence/Independent Studies, Center for Community and Civic Engagement, Institute for Disability Studies, and Graduate Studies; and the Academic Council, Graduate Council, Faculty Senate, and the Council of Chairs provide leadership and support in achieving this mission.

Interim Provost, Dr. Steven R. Moser
Aubrey Keith Lucas Administration Building, Room 204

Associate Provost for Academic Excellence, Dr. Amy Miller
Aubrey Keith Lucas Administration Building, Room 201

Associate Provost for Assessment and Accreditation, Dr. William Powell

Associate Vice President of International Programs, Dr. Daniel Norton

Associate Vice President for Enrollment, Mr. Richard Mullin


Professional Staff

Allison Gillespie - Assistant to the Provost for Academic Affairs
Fax: 601-266-6322

Debby Hill - Assistant to the Provost for Operations
Fax: 601-266-6322

Linda Dorsey - Budget & Personnel Coordinator
Fax: 601-266-6322

Cindy Davis - Administrative Secretary
Fax: 601-266-6322