Skip navigation

USM College of Arts and Sciences Travel Grants Awarded to Faculty, Students

Thu, 11/17/2022 - 08:05am | By: Ivonne Kawas

The University of Southern Mississippi (USM) College of Arts and Sciences has awarded a total of $18.9k in travel grants to 29 faculty members and 22 graduate students, who will build rapport with professionals from around the world as they travel to present as experts in their fields and engage in essential networking and training opportunities.

“Since 2019, the College of Arts and Sciences travel awards have provided funding to faculty and graduate students who present their research at conferences or participate in workshops, training activities, and similar professional activities outside the confines of the Southern Miss community,” said Dr. David Cochran, interim associate dean for research and graduate education.

“Professional travel is an important part of the academic career. It allows students and faculty to interact with colleagues and mentors from other institutions, share ideas, build collaborative relationships, and network within their fields. The College of Arts and Sciences is proud to support its faculty and graduate students in this way and applauds their efforts to build their careers through professional travel.”


The faculty awardees include:

  • Diana Bernstein | Ocean Science and Engineering
  • Josh Bernstein | Humanities
  • Sean Buckelew | Humanities
  • Theresa Bush | Performing and Visual Arts
  • Philip Carlan | Criminal Justice, Forensic Science, and Security
  • Melody Causby | Music
  • Tristan Clemons | Polymer Science and Engineering
  • Dave Davies | Media and Communication
  • Jiu Ding | Mathematics and Natural Sciences
  • Matt Donahue | Mathematics and Natural Sciences
  • Ian Dunkle | Humanities
  • Ellen Elder | Music
  • Allison Formanack | Social Science and Global Studies
  • Jeanne Gillespie | Social Science and Global Studies
  • Laura Gulledge | Criminal Justice, Forensic Science, and Security
  • Ben McIlwain | Music
  • Danilo Mezzadri | Music
  • Jay Morris | Performing and Visual Arts
  • Bryan Moses | Performing and Visual Arts
  • Joseph Cheatle | Humanities
  • Katrin Pesch | Coastal Resilience
  • Nicole Philips | Biological, Environmental, and Earth Sciences)
  • Bradley Phillis | Humanities
  • Mark Puckett | Biological, Environmental, and Earth Sciences
  • Jackie Shilcutt | Performing and Visual Arts
  • Ery Shin | Humanities
  • Jae-Haw Shin | Media and Communication
  • Clay Tucker | Biological, Environmental, and Earth Sciences
  • Maria Wallace | Center for STEM Education


The graduate student awardees include:

  • Reham Bohamad | Communications (Mass Communication) PhD
  • Devilal Dahal | Computational Science (Physics) PhD
  • Fernanda de Oliveira Veiverberg | Anthropology MA
  • Hayley Hasik | History PhD
  • Juan de la Puente Herrero | Teaching of Language MATL
  • Nazmul Hosen | Chemistry PhD
  • Taiya Jarva | Biological Sciences MS
  • Mary-Catherine Jones | Theatre (Performance) MFA
  • Kerstin Miller | Political Science MA
  • Apoorva Mittal | English (Creative Writing) PhD
  • Hannah Mummert | English (Literature) PhD
  • David Nikityn | English (Creative Writing) PhD
  • Miranda Noland | Anthropology MA
  • Hafeez Oladejo | Marine Science PhD
  • Azadeh Razavi Arab | Marine Science PhD
  • Mark Robertson | Polymer Science and Engineering PhD
  • Jerra Runnels | History MA
  • Camila Salas | Theatre (Performance) MFA
  • Dipin Subedi | Political Science MA
  • Prince Tetteh | Political Science MA
  • Amanda Walsh | Communication (Communication Studies) PhD
  • Brian Washam | History PhD