Skip navigation

Office of the Registrar

Fall 2016 full-term Academic Calendar

 

Undergraduate Admissions Deadlines 

 

Thursday, June 30

Deadline for fall freshman admission - Please see Office of Admissions for more information

Freshman students who intend to enroll at Southern Miss for the fall 2016 semester must be offered admission on or before Thursday, June 30.

Friday, Aug. 19 Deadline for fall transfer admission - Please see Office of Admissions for more information

Transfer students who intend to enroll at Southern Miss for the fall 2016 semester must be offered admission on or before Friday, August 19.

Friday, Aug. 19

Deadline for fall readmission - Please see Office of Admissions for more information 

Previously enrolled students who intend to reenroll at Southern Miss for the fall 2016 semester must be offered readmission on or before Friday, August 19.

Advisement dates

 

March 1 Priority Advisement for summer and fall
March 28-31 Enrollment appointment registration for summer and fall 
Tuesday, April 12 Begins open registration for summer and fall 

Academic dates

 
Monday, Aug. 8

Mini session classes begin

Last day to add/drop mini session classes without instructor permission

Last day to drop mini session class and receive 100% financial credit

Tuesday, Aug. 9

Mini session add/drop with instructor permission begins.
Grade of W issued for courses dropped starting this date

No financial credit given for mini session classes starting this date

Tuesday, Aug. 16 Last day to withdrawal from mini session classes with a grade of W
Friday, Aug. 19

Last day of mini session classes

Wednesday, Aug. 24

Classes begin, including first half-semester (8W1) classes
Add and late registration begin (A $50 late registration fee assessed)

Friday, Aug. 26

Last day to add/drop (8W1) classes without instructor permission

Last day to drop (8W1) courses without a grade of W

Last day to drop (8W1) classes and receive 100% financial credit

Saturday, Aug. 27

Saturday classes begin

Wednesday, Aug. 31

Last day to drop full-semester classes and receive 100% financial credit

Last day to add/drop full-term classes without instructor permission

Thursday, Sept. 1

No financial credit given for full-semester classes starting this date

Grade of W issued for full-term courses dropped starting this date
(All approved drops between Sept. 1-Nov. 4 will be issued a grade of W)

Monday, Sept. 5

LABOR DAY HOLIDAY (day and night classes do not meet)

Wednesday, Sept. 28

Last day to withdraw from 8W1 courses and receive a grade of W

Monday, October 3

Priority Advisement for spring begins

Friday, Oct. 7

Deadline for faculty to enter interim grades

Friday, Oct. 14

Last day of  and final examinations for first half-semester (8W1) classes

Midpoint in Fall semester

Monday, Oct. 17 Second half-semester (8W2) classes begin
Wednesday, Oct. 19

Last day to add/drop second half-semester (8W2) classes without instructor permission

Last day to drop (8W2) courses without a grade of W


Last day to drop (8W2) courses and receive 100% financial credit

Thursday - Friday,
Oct. 20-21

FALL BREAK (dates subject to change)

Monday - Thursday,
October 24-27

 Enrollment appointment registration for spring

Monday, October 31

Begins open registration for spring

Tuesday, Nov. 1

Last day to file application for degree for spring 2017 commencement

Friday, Nov. 4

Last day to withdraw from full-term courses and receive a grade of W

(After the withdraw deadline, students will not have the option to request permission to drop or withdraw. After this date, the grade a student has earned will appear on the official transcript.)

Tuesday, Nov. 22 Last day to withdraw from 8W2 courses and receive a grade of W
Wednesday - Friday,
Nov. 23 - 25
THANKSGIVING HOLIDAYS
Monday, Nov. 28

Classes resume

 

Monday, Dec. 5

Monday night class examinations

Tuesday, Dec. 6 Tuesday night class examinations
Wednesday, Dec. 7 Wednesday night class examinations
Thursday, Dec. 8

Thursday night class examinations

Friday, Dec. 9

Last day of full term and second half-semester (8W2) classes

Saturday, Dec. 10

Saturday final exams

Monday - Thursday,
Dec. 12-15

Full-term and (8W2) final exams
Friday, Dec. 16

Commencement - Reed Green Coliseum
9:00 a.m. and 3:00 p.m.

Saturday, Dec. 17 Residence halls close at noon
Monday, Dec. 19 Final faculty grade submission due into SOAR by 11:00 a.m.
Tuesday-Wednesday,
Dec. 20-21
Registrar’s Office processes end of term grades.
Wednesday, Dec. 21 Grades available to view in SOAR for students completing their course evaluations.

 

 

Contact Us

Office of the Registrar
Kennard-Washington Hall (KWH) Room 110
118 College Drive, #5006
Hattiesburg, MS 39406

Hattiesburg Campus

Campus Map

Email
registrarFREEMississippi

Phone
601.266.5006

Contact Us

Student Services One Stop
Hardy Hall, First Floor
730 East Beach Boulevard
Long Beach, MS 39560

Gulf Park Campus

Campus Map

Email
OneStop_GPFREEMississippi

Phone
228.214.3370