Skip navigation

Office of the Registrar

Fall 2017 Full-term Academic Calendar

Undergraduate Admissions Deadlines 

 

June 30

Deadline for fall freshman admission - Please see Office of Admissions for more information

Freshman students who intend to enroll at Southern Miss for the fall 2017 semester must be offered admission on or before Friday, June 30, 2017.

August 9 Deadline for fall transfer admission - Please see Office of Admissions for more information

Transfer students who intend to enroll at Southern Miss for the fall 2017 semester must be offered admission on or before Wednesday, August 9, 2017.

TBA

Deadline for fall readmission - Please see Office of Admissions for more information 

Previously enrolled students who intend to reenroll at Southern Miss for the fall 2017 semester must be offered readmission on or before .

Advisement dates

 

March 1 Priority Advisement for summer and fall
April 3-6 Enrollment appointment registration for summer and fall 
April 7 Begins open registration for summer and fall 

Academic dates

 
Saturday, July 1

Last day to file application for degree for fall 2017 commencement without a fee

Wednesday, Aug. 16

Classes begin
Late registration and add/drop begins (subject to $50 late fee)

Friday, Aug. 18

Last day to add/drop for first term (8W1) classes without academic or financial penalty

Last day to drop first term (8W1) classes without grade of W

Saturday, Aug. 19

Saturday classes begin

Wednesday, Aug. 23

Last day to add/drop full term classes without academic or financial penalty

Last day to drop full term classes without grade of W

Monday, Sept. 4

LABOR DAY HOLIDAY (day and night classes do not meet)

Wednesday, Sept. 20

Last day to withdraw from first term 8W1 classes with grade of W

Friday, Oct. 6

Last day of and final examinations for first term (8W1) classes

Monday, Oct. 9 Second term (8W2) classes begin
Wednesday, Oct. 11

Last day to add/drop second term (8W2) classes without academic or financial penalty

Last day to drop second term (8W2) classes without grade of W

Thursday - Friday,
Oct. 19-20

FALL BREAK (dates subject to change)
Full term classes do not meet; Saturday classes meet

Friday, Oct. 27

Last day to withdraw from full term classes with grade of W

Wednesday, November 1

Last day to file application for degree for spring 2018 commencement without a fee

Tuesday, Nov. 14 Last day to withdraw from second term 8W2 courses with grade of W

Wednesday, Nov. 15 (beginning at 5:00 pm)-
Sunday, Nov. 19

SOAR and transcript printing offline for software upgrade
Wednesday - Friday,
Nov. 22 - 24
THANKSGIVING HOLIDAYS
Monday, Nov. 27

Classes resume

 

Monday - Thursday,
Nov. 27-30

Night class examinations

Friday, Dec. 1

Last day of full term and second term (8W2) classes

Saturday, Dec. 2

Saturday final exams

Monday - Thursday,
Dec. 4-7

Full-term and (8W2) final exams
Friday, Dec. 8

Commencement - Reed Green Coliseum
9:00 a.m. and 3:00 p.m.

Saturday, Dec. 9 Residence halls close
Monday, Dec. 11 Final faculty grade submission due into SOAR by 11:00 a.m.
Tuesday-Wednesday,
Dec. 12-13
Registrar’s Office processes end of term grades.
Wednesday, Dec. 13 Grades available to view in SOAR for students completing their course evaluations.

 

 

Contact Us

Office of the Registrar
Kennard-Washington Hall (KWH) Room 110
118 College Drive, #5006
Hattiesburg, MS 39406

Hattiesburg Campus

Campus Map

Email
registrarFREEMississippi

Phone
601.266.5006

Contact Us

Student Services One Stop
Hardy Hall, First Floor
730 East Beach Boulevard
Long Beach, MS 39560

Gulf Park Campus

Campus Map

Email
OneStop_GPFREEMississippi

Phone
228.214.3370