Skip navigation

Office of the Registrar

Spring 2016 full-term Academic Calendar

Academic dates

 
Wednesday, Oct. 1  Advisement begins for spring 2016 and continues throughout the semester.
Spring 2016 schedule is available
Monday, Oct. 19  Enrollment appointment registration for spring 2016
Monday, Nov. 2  Open registration for spring 2016
Monday - Friday,
Jan. 4-15
Mini session classes begin
Monday, Jan. 4

Last day to add/drop mini session classes without permission

Last day to drop mini session classes and receive 100% financial credit

Tuesday, Jan. 5

Mini session add/drop with instructor permission begins.
Grade of W issued for courses dropped starting this date

No financial credit given for mini session classes starting this date

Tuesday, Jan. 12 Last day to withdrawal from mini session classes and receive a grade of W
(After this date students will earn a letter grade for all enrolled courses)
Thursday, Jan. 14, 2016

Final orientation and registration for new undergraduate students

Friday, January 15, 2016

Mini session classes end

Residence halls reopen beginning at 8:00 a.m.

Monday, Jan. 18 

Martin Luther King holiday

Tuesday, Jan. 19

Classes begin, including first half-semester (8W1) classes
Add/drop and late registration begin (A $50 late registration fee assessed)

Thursday, Jan. 21

Last day to add (8W1) classes without instructor permission

Last day to drop (8W1) classes and receive 100% financial credit

Friday, Jan. 22 Grade of W issued for (8W1) courses dropped with instructor's permission will start this date
Saturday, Jan. 23 Saturday classes begin
Tuesday, Jan. 26

Last day to drop full-semester classes and receive 100% financial credit

Last day to add/drop full-term classes without instructor permission

Wednesday, Jan. 27

Grade of W issued for courses dropped starting this date

Monday - Tuesday,
Feb. 8-9
Mardi Gras holiday
Wednesday, Feb. 24

Last day to withdraw from (8W1) courses

Tuesday, March 1

Summer & Fall 2016 Schedule Release

Advisement begins

Friday, March 4

Deadline for faculty to enter interim grades

Friday, March 11

Last day of and final examinations for first half-semester (8W1) classes

Midpoint in semester
Monday - Friday,
March 14-18

Spring Break holiday

Monday, March 21

Classes resume

Second half-semester (8W2) classes begin

Wednesday, March 23

Last day to add second half-semester (8W2) classes without instructor permission

Last day to drop (8W2) courses and receive 100% financial credit

Thursday, March 24

Grade of W issued for (8W2) courses dropped with instructor's permission will start this date

Deadline for spring 2016 graduate names to appear in the Commencement Program

Friday, March 25 Good Friday holiday
Monday-Thursday,
March 28-31
Enrollment appointments for summer and fall 2016 registration
Friday, April 1 Last day to file application for degree for summer 2016 commencement
Thursday, April 7 Last day to withdraw from full term classes and receive a grade of W
(After this date students will earn a letter grade for all enrolled courses)
Tuesday, April 12 Open enrollment for summer and fall 2016 registration
Friday, April 22 Last day to withdraw from (8W2) courses
Tuesday, May 3 Tuesday night class examinations
Wednesday, May 4 Wednesday night class examinations
Thursday, May 5

Thursday night class examinations

Friday, May 6

Last day of full term and second half-semester (8W2) classes

Monday, May 9

Monday night class examinations

Monday - Thursday,
May 9-12

Full-term and (8W2) final exams
Friday, May 13

Commencement - Reed Green Coliseum
10:00 a.m. and 2:30 p.m.

Saturday, May 14 Residence halls close at noon
Monday, May 16 Final faculty grade submission due into SOAR by 11:00 a.m.
Monday - Tuesday,
May 16 - 17
Registrar’s Office processes end of term grades. 
Wednesday, May 18 Grades available to view in SOAR for students completing their course evaluations.

Contact Us

Office of the Registrar
Kennard-Washington Hall (KWH) Room 110
118 College Drive, #5006
Hattiesburg, MS 39406

Hattiesburg Campus

Campus Map

Email
registrarFREEMississippi

Phone
601.266.5006

Contact Us

Hardy Hall Room 236
730 East Beach Boulevard
Long Beach, MS 39560

Gulf Park Campus

Campus Map

Email
OneStop_GPFREEMississippi

Phone
228.214.3370