Skip navigation

Office of the Registrar

Spring 2021 Full Academic Calendar

 (Dates subject to change)

Spring 2021 Add/Drop/Withdraw Deadlines (updated 10-22-2020)

Calendar Date

Intersession

Full Term

Session I (8W1)

Session II (8W2)

Class Dates

January 4 - 19

January 20 - April 30

January 20 - March 9

March 10 - April 22

Last day to add/drop without academic/financial penalty

January 5

January 27

January 22

March 12

Last day to receive 100% refund

(No tuition credit issued after this date)

January 5 January 27 January 22 March 12

Last day to drop classes without instructor permission

January 5

January 27 January 22 March 12

All approved drops will result in grade of W within these dates

January 6 - 14

January 28 - March 31

January 23 - February 16

March 13 - April 23

Last day to make an add/drop course request or withdraw from the University and receive a grade of W

January 14

March 31 February 16 April 23

Final exam

January 19

April 26-30

March 8 (MW classes)

March 9 (TTH classes)

April 26 (MW classes)

April 27 (TTH classes)

After the last day to withdraw from the University, students are academically obligated and will receive a grade for all enrolled courses.  

Undergraduate Admissions Deadlines 

January 13, 2021

Deadline for spring freshman admission – Please see Office of Admissions for more information.

Freshman students who intend to enroll at Southern Miss for the Spring 2021 semester must be offered admission on or before this date.

January 13, 2021

Deadline for spring transfer admission – Please see Office of Admissions for more information.

Transfer students who intend to enroll at Southern Miss for the Spring 2021 semester must be offered admission on or before this date.

January 15, 2021

Deadline for spring readmission – Please see Office of Admissions for more information.

Previously enrolled students who intend to re-enroll must be offered admission on or before this date.

Previously enrolled students who are on admissions or academic suspension must submit all necessary documentation by this date at 12 noon in order to be considered for readmission for spring 2021.

Advisement dates 

Thursday, Oct. 1 - Wednesday, Oct. 7 Priority Advisement for spring
Thursday, Oct. 8 Open registration for spring begins

Academic dates 

Friday, Jan. 1 First day to submit a Spring 2021 Very Late Degree Application at the $125 late application fee
Monday, Jan. 4 - Tuesday, Jan. 19 Winter Intersession (Students may enroll for a maximum of 4 intersession hours)
Tuesday, Jan. 5

Last day to add/drop Intersession classes without academic or financial penalty and receive 100% tuition credit

Last day to drop Intersession classes without grade of W

Thursday, Jan. 14 Last day to withdraw from Intersession classes with grade of W
Friday, Jan. 15

Last day to clear academic suspension through the student's respective college. Clearance forms must be submitted to the Registrar's Office by 4:00 p.m.

Final orientation and registration for new undergraduate students

Last day to clear academic suspension through the student's respective college. Clearance forms must be submitted to the Registrar's Office by 4:00 pm.

Monday, Jan. 18

Martin Luther King holiday (observed)

Tuesday, Jan. 19

Last day and final exams for Winter Intersession classes

Wednesday, Jan. 20

Classes begin

Late registration and add/drop begin ($50.00 late registration fee)

First day for Spring 2021 degree candidates to reserve seat free of charge for May 2021 Commencement ceremonies

Friday, Jan. 22

Last day to add/drop Session I (8W1) classes without academic or financial penalty and receive 100% tuition credit

Last day to drop Session I (8W1) classes without grade of W

Saturday, Jan. 23

Saturday classes begin

Wednesday, Jan. 27

Last day to add/drop full term classes without academic or financial penalty and receive 100% tuition credit

Last day to drop full term classes without grade of W

Wednesday, Jan. 27

All approved drops for full term classes assigned a grade of W

Tuesday, Feb. 16

Last day to withdraw from Session I (8W1) courses with grade of W

Friday, Feb. 19

HOLIDAY
(Friday block and night courses that meet once a week will meet)

Monday, Mar. 8

Last day of and final examinations for MW Session I (8W1) classes

Tuesday, Mar. 9

Last day of and final examinations for TTH Session I (8W1) classes

Wednesday, Mar. 10

Session II MW (8W2) classes begin

Thursday, Mar. 11

Session II TTH (8W2) classes begin

Friday, Mar. 12

Last day to add/drop Session II (8W2) classes without academic or financial penalty and receive 100% tuition credit

Last day to drop Session II (8W2) classes without grade of W

Friday, March 19

HOLIDAY
(Friday block and night courses that meet once a week will meet)

Wednesday, Mar. 31

Last day to withdraw from full term classes with grade of W

Last day to submit a Spring 2021 Very Late Degree Application at the $125 late application fee

Last day for Spring 2021 degree candidates to reserve seat free of charge for May 2021 Commencement ceremonies

Thursday, Apr. 1

Last day to file an application for degree for Summer 2021 Commencement without a fee

First day to submit a Spring 2021 Rush Degree Application at the $175 late application fee

First day for Spring 2021 degree candidates to reserve seat for May 2021 Commencement ceremonies at $100 fee

Last day to file applications for graduate degree for summer 2021 commencement. No late applications will be accepted.

Friday, Apr. 2 HOLIDAY (day and night classes do not meet)
Wednesday, April 21

Last day of MW Session II (8W2) classes

Thursday, April 22

Last day of TTH Session II (8W2) classes

Friday, Apr. 23

Last day of Friday block courses

Last day to withdraw from Session II (8W2) classes with grade of W

Last day for Spring 2021 degree candidates to reserve seat for May Commencement ceremonies at $100 fee

Students requesting after April 23 will not be allowed to participate in the May Commencement ceremonies

Sunday, April 25

Last day to submit a Spring 2021 Rush Degree Application at the $175 late application fee

Monday, April 26

First day to submit a Spring 2021 Extreme Exception Degree Application at the $275 late application fee

Friday, April 30

Last day to submit a Spring 2021 Extreme Exception Degree Application at the $275 late application fee

Monday-Thursday, April 19-22

Night exams

Monday - Friday, April 26-30 Full term final examinations
Monday, May 3 7:00 p.m. - Undergraduates in the College of Nursing and Health Professions at
Reed Green Coliseum, Hattiesburg campus
Tuesday, May 4 7:00 p.m. - Undergraduates in the College of Education and Human Sciences at
Reed Green Coliseum, Hattiesburg campus

Wednesday, May 5

7:00 p.m. - All Graduate Students at
Reed Green Coliseum, Hattiesburg campus

Thursday, May 6

7:00 p.m. - Undergraduates in the College of Business and Economic Development at
Reed Green Coliseum, Hattiesburg campus

Friday. May 7 9:00 a.m. and 3:00 p.m. - Undergraduates in the College of Arts and Sciences at
Reed Green Coliseum, Hattiesburg campus
Saturday, May 8 3:00 p.m. - All Coast-based Undergraduate and Graduate Students at
Mississippi Coast Coliseum, Biloxi
Monday, May 10 Final faculty grade submission due into SOAR by 11:00 a.m.
Monday-Tuesday, May 10-11 Registrar’s Office processes end of term grades
Wednesday, May 12 Grades available to view in SOAR for students completing their course evaluations

 

Contact Us

Office of the Registrar
Kennard-Washington Hall (KWH) Room 110
118 College Drive, #5006
Hattiesburg, MS 39406

Hattiesburg Campus

Campus Map

Email
registrarFREEMississippi

Phone
601.266.5006

Contact Us

Student Services One Stop
Hardy Hall, First Floor
730 East Beach Boulevard
Long Beach, MS 39560

Gulf Park Campus

Campus Map

Email
OneStop_GPFREEMississippi

Phone
228.214.3370