Skip navigation

Center for Writers


Job Placement

2019 John Duncan, Composition Instructor, Kentucky Community and Technology College System

2019 Jessica Guzman, Visiting Assistant Professor of Poetry, Franklin and Marshall College

2019 Jay Glassie, English professor, Bard High School Early College, Washington DC

2018 Todd Gray, English professor, The Delta School, Wilson, Arkansas

2018, Andrew Gretes, Adjunct Lecturer, American University, Washington DC

2017 Anastasia Stelse, Visiting Instructor, University of South Florida

2017 Tanya Mason Smith, Instructor, Pensacola State University

2017 Joseph Holt, Assistant Professor of Fiction, University of Alaska, Fairbanks

2017 Sara Lewis, Assistant Editor, Oxford American Magazine

2016 Christina Rothenbeck, Instructor of English, Louisiana State University

2016 Susan Elliot, Marketing Manager in New Capital Partners, Birmingham, Alabama

2016 Jen Brewington, Assistant Professor of Practice in Composition, USM

2015 Allison Campbell, Chair of Creative Writing, Lusher School, New Orleans, LA

2015 Louis DiLeo, Assistant Professor, English, Florida Southern College

2015 Ellis Purdie, Assistant Professor, East Texas Baptist University

2015 Andrea Spofford, Assistant Professor of Poetry, Austin Peay State University

2015 Pankaj Challa, Assistant Professor, Jindal Global University, Haryana, India

2014 Eddie Malone, Lecturer, University of Oklahoma

2014 Chris Brunt, Assistant Professor, English, Rhodes College

2014 Fae Dremock, Assistant Professor, Environmental Sciences, Ithaca College

2014 Kent Quaney, Lecturer of Composition and Creative Writing, Illinois-Champaign Urbana

2013 Josh Johnson, Instructor, Chattanooga State

2012 Claudia Smith Chen, Lecturer, University of Houston-Downtown

2007 Erin Elizabeth Smith, Senior Lecturer, English, University of Tennessee

2002 Michael Farris Smith, Associate Professor, English, Mississippi University for Women

2002 Kim Chinquee, Associate Professor, Co-Director, Writing Program, SUNY-Buffalo State, Senior Editor of New World Writing, Chief Editor of ELJ  (Elm Leaves Journal)

1999 Cynthia Hardy, Emerita Professor of Developmental Education, U. Alaska, Fairbanks


Books and Awards

Michael Farris Smith, Desperation Road (2017); Rivers (novel) Simon & Schuster (2013); The Hands of Strangers (novella) Main Street Rag Press (2011); "Dos Mujeres" in the Texas Review; "You and Peggy and That Dog" in the Mississippi Review; "What Goes, What Stays" in Coming Home, a collection of Mississippi essays forthcoming from University Press of Mississippi (2013) Smith’s notable publications include Desperation Road (Amazon Best Books, Barnes & Noble Discover pick, Indie Next selection), Rivers (for which he received the 2014 Mississippi Author Award for Fiction), and The Hands of Strangers. He has been awarded the Mississippi Arts Commission Literary Arts Fellowship, the Transatlantic Review Award for Fiction, and the Alabama Arts Council Fellowship Award for Literature. His short fiction has twice been nominated for a Pushcart Prize, and his essays have appeared in the New York Times, Catfish Alley, Deep South magazine, and more.

Michael Knight, Eveningland (Atlantic Monthly, 2017); The Typist (Atlantic Monthly, 2010); The Holiday Season (Grove, 2007); Goodnight, Nobody (Atlantic Monthly, 2003); Divining Rod (Dutton, 1988); Dogfight & Others Stories (Plume, 1998). Knight’s novel, The Typist was selected as a Best Book of the Year by The Huffington Post and appeared on Oprah’s Summer Reading List in 2011. His short stories have appeared in The New Yorker, Oxford American, Paris Review and The Southern Review and have been anthologized in Best American Mystery Stories (2004) and New Stories from the South: The Year’s Best (1999, 2003, 2004, and 2009).

Mary Miller, Biloxi (Liveright, 2019); Always Happy Hour (Liveright, 2017); The Last Days of California (Liveright, 2014); Big World (Short Flight/Long Drive, 2009). Her stories have appeared in The Paris Review, the Oxford American, New Stories from the South, Norton's Seagull Book of Stories, The Best of McSweeney’s Quarterly, American Short Fiction, Mississippi Review, and many others. She is a former James A. Michener Fellow in Fiction at the University of Texas and John and Renée Grisham Writer-in-Residence at Ole Miss. 

Kim Chinquee, Wetsuit (2019); Shot Girls (2018); Veer (2017); Oh Baby (2008), all with Ravenna Press. Chinquee is the recipient of two Pushcart Prizes and a Henfield Prize.

Jessica Guzman, Adelante (Switchback Books, 2020), winner of the 2019 Gatewood Prize for a book of poems. 

Allison Campbell, Encyclopédie of the Common and Encompassing (Kore Press, 2016)

Andrea Spofford, The Pine Effect (Red Paint Hill Press, 2018); Frost and Thaw, chapbook (Red Bird Chapbooks, 2018)

Annette Boehm, The Apidictor Tapes (New Rivers Press, 2021); The Knowledge Weapon (Bare Fiction, July 2016; E D Liberations, chapbook (Dancing Girl Press, 2019); The Five Parts of Love – Confabulating Sappho (Dancing Girl Press, 2012)

Steve Bellin-Oka, Instructions for Seeing a Ghost (University of North Texas Press, 2020), winner of the 2019 Vassar Miller Prize for a book of poems. Dead Letter Office at North Atlantic Station, chapbook (Seven Kitchens Press, 2017), Out of the Frame, chapbook (Walls Divide Press, 2019)

Contact Us

Center for Writers

347 Liberal Arts Building (LAB)
118 College Dr. #5144
Hattiesburg, MS 39406

Hattiesburg Campus

Campus Map