Graduate Students

Information of current students.

 

 

 

Sydnie Bianchi

Sydnie.Bianchi@usm.edu

B.A. in Anthropology and Forensic Science Chemistry, 2015, Southeast Missouri State University

Research Interests: Osteology, forensic anthropology, and bioarchaeology.

 Kristi Carnahan

Kristi Carnahan

Kristi.Carnahan@usm.edu

B.S. in Nursing, 2008, University of Louisiana at Monroe B.A. in Anthropology, 2015, Louisiana State University.

Research Interests: Human osteology, paleopathology, skeletal pathology, trauma and taphonomic analyses, and forensic anthropology.

 Bryan Flint

Brian Flynt

Brian.Flynt@usm.edu

B.A. in History, 1996, University of Southern Mississippi

Research Interests:  Historical archaeology, antebellum plantations and farmsteads, vernacular architecture and landscapes, historical cemeteries, wealth, Status, and power projection, consumerism, material culture theory, archaeological theory.

 Hadley Fuller

Hadley Fuller

Hadley.Fuller@usm.edu

B.A. in Anthropology, 2015, University of Louisiana at Lafayette

Research Interests: Bioarchaeology, forensic anthropology, paleopathology, osteology, southeastern archaeology.

 Nicholas Glass

Nicholas Glass

Nicholas.Glass@usm.edu

B.A in Anthropology, 2009, Auburn University

Research Interests: Mississippian social structure and polity, archaeological method and theory, and prehistoric ceramic traditions.

 Emmalea Gomberg

Emmalea Gomberg

Emmalea.Gomberg@usm.edu

B.A. in Anthropology, 2013, University of Alabama

Research Interests: Bioarchaeology, forensic anthropology, skeletal biology, paleopathology, historic Maya archaeology, southeastern archaeology, ceramics.

 Rylie Halfhill

Rylie Halfhill

Rylie.Halfhill@usm.edu

B.A. in Anthropology, 2014, University of Alabama at Birmingham

Research Interests: Bioarchaeology, forensic anthropology, southeastern prehistory, commingled remains.

 Kaitlin Harstine

Kaitlin Harstine

Kaitlin.Harstine@usm.edu

B.A. in Anthropology, 2016, University of Tennessee, Knoxville. 

Research Interests: Forensic anthropology, human osteology, biological anthropology, medical anthropology, disasters, displacement, human rights, and paleopathology

 Dana Hauffe

Dana Hauffe

Dana.Hauffe@usm.edu

B.A. in Liberal Arts with a concentration in Ethno-Archaeology, 2015, Northwestern State University

Research interests include:  Southeastern archaeology, ethno-botany in the Southeast, Native American Studies, applied anthropology in resolving assimilation issues of the Choctaw and other indigenous peoples, Choctaw history and social growth in the modern world, application of environmental and cultural laws in archaeology.

 Danielle Kawa

Daniella Kawa

Daniella.Kawa@usm.edu

B.S. Anthropology, B.A. History, 2016, Virginia Commonwealth University

Research Interests: Cultural anthropology, museum studies, women's culture, late 19th/early 20th century US history and culture. Enrolled in Dual Degree with History.

 

Jennifer Lewis

Jennifer.E.Lewis@usm.edu

B.S in Anthropology, 2014, Southern Illinois University

Research Interests: Native Americans and religion.

 Myra Miller

Myra Miller

Myra.Miller@usm.edu

B.A. in Anthropology and English, 2013, East Tennessee State University

Research Interests: Bioarchaeology, pellagra, strontium isotope analysis, maize, health disparities, nutritional epidemiology. Enrolled in dual-degree with Public Health.

 Michelle Provenza

Michelle Provenza

Michelle.Provenza@usm.edu

B.S. in Kinesiology and Health Promotion, 2015, Louisiana Tech University

Research Interests: Public health,health education, nutritional anthropology, medical anthropology, environmental health, evolutionary medicine, and children, teen, and young adults health disparities. Enrolled in dual-degree with Public Health

 Carson Rouse

Carson Rouse

Carson.Rouse@usm.edu

B.A. in Archaeology and History, 2016, University of North Carolina

Research interests: Bioarchaeology, paleopathology, osteology, forensic anthropology, and southeastern archaeology.

 

H. Denise Saucier

H.Saucier@usm.edu

B.S. in Parks and Recreation Management, 1988, University of Southern Mississippi

Research Interests: Archival methods and preservation, immigration studies and ethnology, cultural anthropology and archaeology. Enrolled in dual-degree with Library Information Science.

 Sally Skelton

Sally Skelton

Sally.Skelton@usm.edu

B.A. in Anthropology, 2014, University of Alabama

Research Interests: Bioarchaeology, biological Anthropology, Maya archaeology, robusticity and health, paleopathology, forensic anthropology, evolutionary anthropology.

 Jaime Thomas

Jaime Thomas

Jaime.E.Thomas@usm.edu

B.A. in Anthropology, 2017, University of Mississippi 

Research Interests: osteology, bioarchaeology, paleopathology, morphometric analysis of dentition, how an environment and climate can affect a population's biological processes, Maya archaeology 


 Hannah Wallace

Hannah Wallace

Hannah.Wallace@usm.edu

B.A. in Anthropology, 2015, Butler University, Indiana

Research Interests: sociocultural anthropology, health and medicine, feminist perspectives, narratives on confinement, migration, multiculturalism and identity

 Alec Williams

Alec Williams

Alec.Williams@usm.edu

B.A. in Anthropology, 2016, Auburn University

Research Interests: biocultural anthropology, medical anthropology, mental health, autism, enculturation, suicide, divorce and men's health

 Jordan Wilson

Jordan Wilson

Jordan.Wilson@usm.edu

B.A. in History, 2015, Northwestern State University, LA

Research Interests: Archaeology and cultural anthropology, prehistory, and zooarchaeology.