Graduate Students

 

 

Sydnie Bianchi

Sydnie.Bianchi@usm.edu

B.A. in Anthropology and Forensic Science Chemistry, 2015, Southeast Missouri State University

Research Interests: Osteology, forensic anthropology, and bioarchaeology.

 

Kristi Carnahan

Kristi.Carnahan@usm.edu

B.S. in Nursing, 2008, University of Louisiana at Monroe B.A. in Anthropology, 2015, Louisiana State University.

Research Interests: Human osteology, paleopathology, skeletal pathology, trauma and taphonomic analyses, and forensic anthropology. 

 

Brian Flynt

Brian.Flynt@usm.edu

B.A. in History, 1996, University of Southern Mississippi

Research Interests: Historical archaeology, antebellum plantations and farmsteads, vernacular architecture and landscapes, historical cemeteries, wealth, status, and power projection, consumerism, material culture theory, archaeological theory.

 

Hadley Fuller

Hadley.Fuller@usm.edu

B.A. in Anthropology, 2015, University of Louisiana at Lafayette

Research Interests: Bioarchaeology, forensic anthropology, paleopathology, osteology, southeastern archaeology.

 

Emmalea Gomberg

Emmalea.Gomberg@usm.edu

B.A. in Anthropology, 2013, University of Alabama

Research Interests: Bioarchaeology, forensic anthropology, skeletal biology, paleopathology, historic Maya archaeology, southeastern archaeology, ceramics.

 

Kaitlin Harstine

Kaitlin.Harstine@usm.edu

B.A. in Anthropology, 2016, University of Tennessee, Knoxville. 

Research Interests: Forensic anthropology, human osteology, biological anthropology, medical anthropology, disasters, displacement, human rights, and paleopathology

 

Dana Hauffe

Dana.Hauffe@usm.edu

B.A. in Liberal Arts with a concentration in Ethno-Archaeology, 2015, Northwestern State University

Research interests include: Southeastern archaeology, ethno-botany in the Southeast, Native American Studies, applied anthropology in resolving assimilation issues of the Choctaw and other indigenous peoples, Choctaw history and social growth in the modern world, application of environmental and cultural laws in archaeology.

 

Daniella Kawa

Daniella.Kawa@usm.edu

B.S. Anthropology, B.A. History, 2016, Virginia Commonwealth University

Research Interests: Cultural anthropology, museum studies, women's culture, late 19th/early 20th century US history and culture. Enrolled in Dual Degree with History.

 

Jennifer Lewis

Jennifer.E.Lewis@usm.edu

B.S in Anthropology, 2014, Southern Illinois University

Research Interests: Native Americans and religion.

 

Myra Miller

Myra.Miller@usm.edu

B.A. in Anthropology and English, 2013, East Tennessee State University

Research Interests: Bioarchaeology, pellagra, strontium isotope analysis, maize, health disparities, nutritional epidemiology. Enrolled in dual-degree with Public Health.

 

Samuel Lawson Mingo

Samuel.Mingo@usm.edu

  A.A. in Art, 2014, East Mississippi Community College

  B.S. in Sociology, 2017, University of Southern Mississippi

 

  Research Interests: Cultural Anthropology; Ethnography of Choctaw culture by digital   

  photography, digital videography, and digital audiography. Contemporary self-identity of   

  Choctaw bands represented across the South Eastern region of the United States.

 

 

 

Michelle Provenza

Michelle.Provenza@usm.edu

B.S. in Kinesiology and Health Promotion, 2015, Louisiana Tech University

Research Interests: Public health,health education, nutritional anthropology, medical anthropology, environmental health, evolutionary medicine, and children, teen, and young adults health disparities. Enrolled in dual-degree with Public Health.

 

Carson Rouse

Carson.Rouse@usm.edu

B.A. in Archaeology and History, 2016, University of North Carolina

Research interests: Bioarchaeology, paleopathology, osteology, forensic anthropology, and southeastern archaeology.

 

Jaime Thomas

Jaime.E.Thomas@usm.edu

B.A. in Anthropology, 2017, University of Mississippi 

Research Interests: osteology, bioarchaeology, paleopathology, morphometric analysis of dentition, how an environment and climate can affect a population's biological processes, Maya archaeology 

 

Jordan Wilson

Jordan.Wilson@usm.edu

B.A. in History, 2015, Northwestern State University, LA

Research Interests: Archaeology and cultural anthropology, prehistory, and zooarchaeology.