Skip navigation

College of Arts and Sciences

Louis Stokes Mississippi Alliance for Minority Participation

Page Content

The Louis Stokes Mississippi Alliance for Minority Participation (LSMAMP) program is one of the National Science Foundation's flagship initiatives for helping the nation meet its science, technology, engineering and mathematics workforce needs for the 21st century. The program is a multidisciplinary, comprehensive, undergraduate program intended to increase the quantity and quality of underrepresented minority students completing baccalaureate degrees and pursuing graduate degrees in the STEM disciplines.

The LSMAMP consortium is comprised of:

  • The University of Southern Mississippi
  • Jackson State University
  • The University of Mississippi
  • Mississippi State University
  • Mississippi Valley State University
  • Alcorn State University
  • Tougaloo College
  • Hinds Community College


Another component of the LSMAMP program is the Summer Bridge program for High School Seniors.  Students may apply for the Summer Bridge program in the summer before their Freshman year at JSU. This 3-4 week program introduces students to the Jackson State University campus and prepares them for the rigor of college academics.

Contact Us

College of Arts and Sciences
Liberal Arts Building 210
118 College Dr. #5004
Hattiesburg, MS 39406

Campus Map



Instagram Icon Facebook Twitter icon