Student Resources

Welcome to Finance

American philosopher Benjamin Franklin once said, “In this world nothing can be said to be certain, except death and taxes.” However, it is the science of finance that turns these mundane realities into funerals and fiscal policy. As you embark on your study of this exciting subject, you will find that it encompasses and brings to life a wide array of topics such as math, accounting, economics and management, as well as many others. That being said, studying finance is a rigorous, but rewarding venture, which is why the starting salary for finance majors is higher than any other major in business, according to payscale.com. Do not dread the rigor though, we have provided some helpful links to aid you in your study and to provide a glimpse into the places your knowledge of finance will take you. 

Advice, Tips and Tricks

401k, IRA, S&P500, GDP; You may encounter these acronyms on a daily basis while perusing the news, but like many, you may need a reference to navigate the alphabet soup. Have no fear, Investopedia provides a wealth definitions and applications of all of the important acronyms as well as mathematical formulas and applications of all of the concepts related to finance.

 http://www.investopedia.com/

Time, money and math make finance work. This video created by the Financial Management Association (FMA) demonstrates the fundamental mathematical concepts that finance students and professionals utilize on a daily basis. http://www.fma.org/FMAOnline/TimeValueofMoney.mp4

Financial management tips from New York Times  bestselling author and TV personality, Beth Kobliner: http://www.bethkobliner.com/

MIT Math and Engineering graduate and Harvard MBA, Salman Khan explains everything finance from personal budgeting and mortgages to stocks, bonds and options.

https://www.khanacademy.org/economics-finance-domain/core-finance

Money advice from investor, philanthropist and one of the world’s wealthiest individuals, Warren Buffett; compiled by Lifehacker: http://twocents.lifehacker.com/warren-buffett-s-best-money-advice-1597691871

 

What stocks should you  buy, hold or dump? Investment advice from the pros

Market Watch: http://www.marketwatch.com/

The Motley Fool: http://www.fool.com/

Value Line: https://research.valueline.com/

Seeking Alpha: http://seekingalpha.com/ 

 

A different view: The state and future of the financial system and world economy as told by economists, sociologists and other harbingers

The Archdruid Report: http://thearchdruidreport.blogspot.com/

Dmitry Orlov: http://cluborlov.blogspot.com/

Peak Prosperity: http://www.peakprosperity.com/crashcourse

Marginal Revolution: http://marginalrevolution.com/

 

Investing in your future 

After graduating with a finance degree, you will have to opportunity to obtain certifications that will distinguish you from your peers and help you land your dream job. Listed below are various certifications within the financial services industry that are sought out by individuals and institutions across the world.

Chartered Financial Analyst (CFA): https://www.cfainstitute.org/Pages/index.aspx

Certified Financial Planner (CFP): http://www.cfp.net/

Certified Treasury Professional (CTP)*: http://ctpcert.afponline.org/

Financial Planning and Analysis Professional (FP&A): http://fpacert.afponline.org/

Certified Management Accountant (CMA):  http://www.imanet.org/cma-certification

*USM is a participating member of the Corporate Treasury Management Program. For more information contact (Hill and/or Kelly contact info?)

 

Organizations in Finance

[information forthcoming]