N. P. H. C.

What is the NPHC?

The National Pan-Hellenic Council was established in 1930 at Howard University as a national coordinating body for the nine historically African American Fraternities and Sororities which had evolved on American college and university campuses by that time. Blatant racism had prevented many African American students on historically white campuses from joining general fraternities and sororities. African Americans were denied admittance to large numbers of campuses which still prohibited blacks from attending. Therefore, African American students on both types of campuses established fraternities and sororities to enhance their college experiences. These organizations did not then nor do they now restrict membership to African Americans. They have developed, however, a distinctive African American style in their activities both social and philanthropic.


The nine (9) International Greek letter Sororities and Fraternities that make up NPHC are as follows:

1906 ~~ Cornell University ~~  Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity

1908 ~~ Howard University ~~ Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority

1911 ~~ Indiana University ~~ Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity

1911 ~~ Howard University ~~ Omega Psi Phi Fraternity

1913 ~~ Howard University ~~ Delta Sigma Theta Sorority

1914 ~~ Howard University ~~ Phi Beta Sigma Fraternity

1920 ~~ Howard University ~~ Zeta Phi Beta Sorority

1922 ~~ Butler University ~~ Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority

1963 ~~ Morgan State University ~~ Iota Phi Theta Fraternity



The stated purpose and mission of the organization in 1930 was “Unanimity of thought and action as far as possible in the conduct of Greek letter collegiate fraternities and sororities, and to consider problems of mutual interest to its member organizations.”

On December 31, 1993, the National Pan-Hellenic Council at Southern Mississippi was chartered. Black Greek-letter organizations have a long history at Southern Miss and five organizations are currently active on campus; Alpha Kappa Alpha (1975), Omega Psi Phi (1975), Delta Sigma Theta (1975), Phi Beta Sigma (1976), Sigma Gamma Rho (1978), Kappa Alpha Psi (1980), Alpha Phi Alpha (1982), Zeta Phi Beta (1984), and Iota Phi Theta (2005)