Skip navigation

Awards and Honors

Awards and Honors

The COVID-19 epidemic has reminded the world why the Humanities are so powerful, relevant and necessary. Works of history, literature, philosophy and religious studies are perfectly suited for capturing the contradictory social processes and emotions within which we find ourselves. So, at this moment when the power and the magic of our disciplines are on display, it is imperative that we honor all of our award winners this year and recognize our students who were excelling in this before it became frighteningly relevant during the pandemic. We could not be any prouder of our students and their accomplishments.


2021-2022 Student Awards and Scholarships


Undergraduate - English

Florence Burrow Pope Endowed Scholarship in English Literature
Heather Dempsey

Howard Wilson and Helen V. Bahr Scholarship Endowment (Best Undergraduate Student Essay)
Kelsey Bailey
Honorable Mention: Eden Duley

Howard W. Bahr Achievement Scholarship Endowment
Karlie Hall

Janet Sims English Scholarship Endowment 
Peepcie Capdepon

Mary Maude T. Jordan Scholarship Endowment
Skyla Langley

Nelma and Marlin Ivey English Scholarship
Mishi Legg
Sallie Warren
Shannon O'Hara and Henry Mackaman English Scholarship Endowment
Fiction Writing: Raisa Harris
Poetry Writing: Tristan Roberson
Wilbur and Polly Stout English Scholarship Endowment
Katie Weber
Eden Duley
Kelli Kirkland


Undergraduate - History 

Charles Moia Memorial History Scholarship
Samantha McDonald

Claude E. Fike Scholarship
Jordan Matthews
Dr. Kenneth G. McCarty History Scholarship
Ashton Hutchinson
Dr. John E. Gonzales Senior Award (2021-2022)
Hannah Arnold

Dr. John E. Gonzales Senior Award (2022-2023)

Dallas Williamson
Dr. John E. Gonzales Undergraduate Scholarship
Mason Page

Dr. John E. Gonzales History Scholarship Endowment - Study Abroad
Benjamin Ogden
Holli Parker
Ashton Hutchinson
John E. Wallace Award
Katelyn Taylor
Martha Boland Byron and Betty Boland Barker Education Scholarship
Sarah Ogden
Nolena Love Stephens Memorial Scholarship
Matthew Dodd
Outstanding Senior in International Studies
Cheyla Gissell Muñoz Ramos
Outstanding Student Teacher Award
Heather Haslem
Treadwell Davis Award
Kyla Lowery 

Undergraduate - Philosophy

Clayton and Mae Sullivan Award
Tate Williams
Forrest Wood Philosophy Scholarships
Carolyn Johnson
Tyoka Eda

Graduate - English

Howard Wilson and Helen V. Bahr Scholarship Endowment
Marisa Mills
Margaret Hageman
M. Caroline McCaulay
Clayton Bradshaw
Apoorva Mittal
John Constantine Tobin
James Sims Award
Hannah Mummert

 Linwood E. Orange Award
Hannah Mummert
Stanley Hauer Excellence in Teaching Award
Apoorva Mittal

Center for Writers awards

Ben Mounger Rawls Award for Excellence in Creative Writing
 David Greenspan
Garth A. Avant Memorial Endowment
Jennifer Peterson
Dr. Jeremy Lespi Memorial English Scholarship Endowment
Keri Miller
Joan Johnson Writing Award in Fiction
Apoorva Mittal
Joan Johnson Writing Award in Poetry
Katrina Gaffney
Miranda Merklein Award for Graduating Fiction Writer
Aaron Cohen
Miranda Merklein Award for Graduating Poet
Megan Wilkinson

Graduate - History


Graduate Student Teaching Award
Sean Buckelew

Jay Washam Memorial Scholarship
Sean O'Farrell
Phi Alpha Theta Award
Sean O'Farrell


Dale Center for the Study of War and Society Awards

Carroll Warren and Parker History Scholarship Endowment
Justin Major
West Law
Lamar Powell Graduate War & Society Scholarship
Justin Major
Brian Valimont





Contact Us

School of Humanities

305 Liberal Arts Building (LAB)
118 College Dr. #5037
Hattiesburg, MS 39406

Campus Hattiesburg

Campus Map