Skip navigation

School of Humanities



Andrew Haley

Dr. Andrew Haley

Dr. Andrew Haley was awarded the 2019-2021 Charles W. Moorman Distinguished Professorship.

I study what people ate to understand who they were. For the past couple of years, I have been mining community cookbooks created by civic groups, churches, and women’s clubs in the twentieth-century South. Through these cookbooks, I have been able to explore attitudes toward progress, gender and race relations, changes in work, early efforts at environmentalism, and ideas about the nation. The Moorman Distinguished Professorship has provided me with resources to visit communities, collect data on cookbook contributors, and finish a book that investigates these histories, while continuing to work with University Libraries at Southern Miss to build a world-class culinary collection. Most importantly, I now know how to cook a raccoon and debone a pike.

 Courtney Luckhardt

Dr. Courtney Luckhardt

Mississippi Humanities Council Teacher of the Year


Dr. Luckhardt's Lecture, “Medievalism: the Uses of the Middle Ages in the Modern World” will be held on February 18th, 2020 at 5:15pm in Gonzales Auditorium (LAB 108) on USM's Hattiesburg Campus. 


I’m very honored to be chosen as the Mississippi Humanities Council Teacher of the Year for USM. I find working with the students here at Southern Miss to be the most rewarding part of my job as a professor. When I introduce students to the history of the Middle Ages (500-1500CE), we sometimes study some controversial topics, as medieval views of the nature of just war, the treatment of women and minorities, or the development of good government were very different from modern Western views of these topics!

Asking students to grapple with beliefs that today would be considered racist or classist, or even barbaric, allows them to step outside their own worldview to another time and culture. It’s the job of medieval historians like myself, who both research and teach on this subject, to make the Middle Ages accessible and relevant, but also to contradict false and simplistic narratives about the pre-modern past. After all, medieval people were still people, with the same joys and griefs that peoples of every time and culture have felt.

My MHC lecture, “Medievalism: the Uses of the Middle Ages in the Modern World” talks not just about the history of Middle Ages itself, but also on “medievalism,” which is the use of ideas about the Middle Ages to serve contemporary needs. For instance, ideas about the glory of the Middle Ages have been used by white supremacists to reduce the real and complex history of the period to the supposed “white” origins of civilization. In order to bust myths about the so-called “Dark Ages”, we must re-examine our ideas about the past in light of cutting-edge scholarship, which can help us to shake off antiquated ideas that reflect neither pre-modern historical realities, nor who we are now in the 21st century.

Contact Us

School of Humanities

347 Liberal Arts Building (LAB)
118 College Dr. #5037
Hattiesburg, MS 39406

Campus Hattiesburg

Campus Map