Skip navigation

USM School of Humanities Recognizes Student Achievements

Tue, 05/30/2023 - 02:50pm | By: David Tisdale

USM HumanitiesThe University of Southern Mississippi (USM) School of Humanities recognized undergraduate and graduate students enrolled in its English, History and Philosophy & Religion Programs for outstanding academic, leadership, and service achievements during the 2022-23 academic year at its Student Awards Ceremony, held May 5 in Gonzales Auditorium on the university’s Hattiesburg campus.


Students recognized include the following, per program and categories:


Undergraduate Students

*Florence Burrow Pope Endowed Scholarship in English Literature: Raisa Harris

*Howard W. Bahr Achievement Scholarship Endowment: Jessica Briscoe

*Janet Sims English Scholarship Endowment: Ezabelle Janssen

*Mary Maude T. Jordan Scholarship Endowment: Jessica Wade

*Nelma and Marlin Ivey English Scholarship: Jed Guin, Michael Romack

*Shannon O'Hara and Henry Mackaman English Scholarship Endowment: William Campbell, Michael Romack

*Wilbur and Polly Stout English Scholarship Endowment: Callan Danenhower; Morgan Gardner, Katie Weber

*Game Studies Interactive Writing Contest Winner: Savannah Irby

*Howard Wilson and Helen V. Bahr Scholarship Endowment for Best Undergraduate Student Essay: Joshua Strobel; Honorable Mention: Jenna McClain

*Emerging Scholar Award for Best Essay in English 340: Winner, fall 2022- Jaylin Jones; Honorable Mention, Fall 2022 - Ashlyn Wilson

*Capstone Award for Best Essay in English 400: Winners, Fall 2022 - Heaven Neese, Karlie Hall

Graduate Students

*Howard Wilson and Helen V. Bahr Scholarship Endowment: Katherine Gaffney, Emily Goldsmith, Margaret Hageman, Marisa Mills, Kayla Schreiber

*James Sims Award: Emily Goldsmith

*Linwood E. Orange Award: Marisa Mills

*Stanley Hauer Excellence in Teaching Award: Hannah Mummert

Center for Writers Awards

*Ben Mounger Rawls Awards Endowment: Emily Goldsmith

*Dr. Jeremy Lespi Memorial English Scholarship Endowment: Kathryn McKenzie

*Garth A. Avant Memorial Endowment: Mary McCaulay, David Nikityn

*Joan Johnson Writing Award in Fiction: Brooke Harries

*Joan Johnson Writing Award in Poetry: Tawanda Nyahasha

*Miranda Merkelein Award for Graduating Fiction Writer: Apoorva Mittal

*Miranda Merkelein Award for Graduating Poet: Corinne Dekkers


Undergraduate Students

*Charles Moia Memorial History Scholarship Endowment: Benjamin Ogden

*Claude E. Fike Scholarship: Maggie Byrd

*Dr. Kenneth G. McCarty History Scholarship Endowment: Jordan Matthews

*John E. Gonzales History Scholarship Endowment – Senior Award: Simeon Gates

*John E. Gonzales History Scholarship Endowment – Undergraduate Scholarship: Jala Johnson, Alanha Johnson

*John E. Wallace Award: Timothy Regan

*Martha Boland Byron and Betty Boland Barker Education Scholarship: Raymond Arreola

*Nolena Love Stephens Secondary Education History Licensure Memorial Annual Scholarship: Austin Moore

Outstanding Student Teacher Award: Meredith McRaney

*Treadwell Davis Award: Zion Culbreath

Graduate Students

*Graduate Student Teaching Award: Brian Valimont

*Jay Washam Memorial Scholarship: Brian Valimont

*John E. Gonzales History Scholarship Endowment – Study Abroad Scholarship: Oscar Coles

*Phi Alpha Theta Award: Emily Cloys

Dale Center for the Study of War & Society Awards

*Dale Center Culpepper Internship Award: Anna Roberson

*Lamar Powell Graduate War & Society Scholarship: Daniel Ward, Sarah Anne Hogue

Philosophy and Religion

*Clayton and Mae Sullivan Award: Braden Waugh

*Forrest Wood Philosophy Scholarship: LaKisha Ashley, Marlena Teston

USM’s School of Humanities is housed in the College of Arts and Sciences. Learn more about the school, including its degree programs and the activities of its students and faculty, at