Ph.D. in Criminal Justice

PH.D. Handbook 2016-2017

About the Doctoral Program

The doctoral program is designed to prepare students for productive careers as teachers and practitioners of justice administration and research. This doctoral degree is normally taken after a student has earned a master's degree, but exceptional students who have earned only a baccalaureate degree are admitted at the discretion of the Doctoral Admissions Committee; and in both cases applicants must meet all university and departmental requirements for regular admission.

General Requirements for Admission

The Doctoral Admissions Committee consults a wide range of criteria, including scores on the GRE, grade point averages, letters of recommendation, experience in justice administration and related fields, the nature of proposed dissertation topics, and - in the case of applicants whose native language is not English - a score on the TOEFL examination indicating a high level of proficiency in English language. Letters of recommendation should be from persons qualified to assess the applicant's readiness for graduate study and should be sent to the department.

General Degree Requirements

1. A minimum of 84 semester hours beyond the bachelor's degree or 54 semester hours beyond the master's degree, with a minimum of 30 semester hours completed in specified 600- and 700-level course work in administration of justice (CJ) and the remainder in approved cognates. A minimum grade of B is required in each course credited toward the degree.

2. A qualifying examination

3. Research tool(s). A combination of course work which may include proficiency in a foreign language, statistics, or computer science as determined by the department.

4. A written comprehensive examination

5. Presentation and oral defense of dissertation

6. Residency. Students must meet the residency requirements specified in this Bulletin.


Precise details of the standards for admission and of curricular matters are available from the acting director of doctoral studies, Dr. Wes Johnson or the department chair, Dr. Lisa Nored.