Skip navigation

School of Education

School of Education

Welcome back!

     As you adjust to your new normal, the faculty, staff, and administrative team in the School of Education want you to know that we are here to assist. If you have any questions about instructional delivery, assignments, etc., please contact us. Your instructors can be reached at their University email addresses. The School of Education staff and the administrative team can be reached via email or our office telephone numbers.

Educational Field Experiences

Ms. Amanda Myrick – amanda.myrick@usm.edu, (601) 266-4571

Ms. Mona Williamson – ramona.williamson@usm.edu, (601) 266-4572

Dr. Anne Sylvest – anne.sylvest@usm.edu, (601) 266-5241

 

Student Academic Services

Ms. Michelle Dawson Simon – michelle.dawson@usm.edu, (601) 266-6189

Ms. Jennifer Finley – jennifer.finley@usm.edu, (601) 266-6143

 

Graduate Programs

Ms. April Franklin – april.franklin@usm.edu, (601) 266-6987

 

School of Education Operations

Ms. Rosie Sims – rosie.edwards@usm.edu, (601) 266-4597

Ms. Martha Resavy – martha.resavy@usm.edu, (601) 266-5810

Dr. Noal Cochran – noal.cochran@usm.edu, (601) 266-5917

Dr. Kyna Shelley – kyna.shelley@usm.edu, (601) 266-4578

Dr. Sandra Nichols – sandra.nichols@usm.edu, (601) 266-4675

     You will receive an updated syllabus from your instructors this week. Read it carefully. Schedule adjustments impacted by the extended Spring break and a statement about the grading policy will be included. Review your syllabi and reach out to your instructors if you have any questions or concerns. Check CANVAS often for updates from your instructors.

      We are all in this together. We are all adjusting during this unprecedented time. It is important that we communicate, that we are flexible, and that we are patient.

      Remember to review the Provost’s webpage daily [click on the ticker at the top of the usm.edu webpage for access]. If you are an elementary education, special education [including gifted], or educational administration major, ensure that you also visit the EPP website, which is linked to the Provost page.

      Again, if you have any questions or concerns that the faculty, staff, or administrative team can address please contact us.

      Practice social distancing. Wash your hands often. Stay home unless it is necessary to leave. Take time to breathe. Engage in activities you enjoy.

    I am so glad that we are able to interact with one another in a manner that is similar to the norm.

 Be well.

 Kind regards,

Dr. Sandra Nichols

Director, School of Education

 


 

Challenge Yourself, Empower Others, Become a Professional Educator

Education is one of the most challenging and rewarding professions!  Faculty in the School of Education prepare students for successful careers in a variety of educational settings, from early childhood through higher education. If you want to make a difference and enjoy working with students, consider a career in one of our professional education programs, offered at both the graduate and undergraduate levels. Our experienced and dedicated faculty generate and disseminate knowledge that influences and enhances educational policies and practices across the state and nation. Join us and become a caring, qualified, confident educational professional!

Meet our faculty   Plan your visit

Our Programs

The School of Education offers undergraduate programs in elementary education, special education and dual licensure (ELE/SPE) and graduate programs in educational administration, higher education, elementary education, special education, alternate route licensure and dyslexia therapy.

The School of Education teacher education and educational administration programs are accredited by the National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education. Teacher education programs are also accredited by the State Process and Performance Review.

2015-2016: In 2015-2016, Southern Miss produced more traditional route Mississippi teachers than any other institution

Nationally Recognized Programs: Our fully online Teacher Assistant Program (TAP) is nationally ranked for quality and affordability

100%: 100% of our undergraduate students complete practicum experiences in community schools every semester