Skip navigation

School of Media and Communication

Hall of Fame

Page Content

The School of Mass Communication and Journalism Hall of Fame was created by the school in 2007 to recognize:

  • individuals who have made outstanding contributions to mass communication and journalism and/or mass communication and journalism education in Mississippi
  • Mississippi natives or USM graduates who have distinguished themselves in the fields of mass communication and journalism and/or mass communication and journalism education.

Nominations for the School of Mass Communication and Journalism Hall of Fame are accepted year-round.  To nominate an individual for this honor, please fill out the online Hall of Fame nomination form.


October, 2015

Ronnie Agnew, executive director at Mississippi Public Broadcasting
Kurt Brautigam, manager of member services at Pearl River Valley Electric Power Association
William "Bud" Kirkpatrick, former director of public relations at Southern Miss
Alice Thomas-Tisdale, publisher of The Jackson Advocate
Stan Tiner, former executive editor and vice president of The Sun Herald

October, 2013

Chuck Scarborough, anchor and correspondent at WNBC-TV

November, 2012

Rebecca Baldwin, vice president and general manager of
Margaret Loesch, founding president and CEO of The Hub TV Network
Sally-Ann Roberts, morning co-anchor on WWL-TV New Orleans
Martha D. Saunders, professor and former president of The University of Southern Mississippi

November, 2011

Jim Cameronvice president and general manager, WDAM-TV
Tena Clark, songwriter, producer, CEO and chief creative officer, DMI Music & Media Solutions
Dave Vincent, station manager, WLOX-TV
Diego Velasco, film writer-director-producer

November, 2010

James Edward Batesphotojournalist, Sun Herald
Dr. Jinx Coleman BroussardWilliam Dickinson Distinguished Professor, Louisiana State University
Dr. Frank Buckleyfounder of Buckley Newspapers and professor
Ace Clevelandformer sports information director, University of Southern Mississippi
Teresa Pace Collierdirector of live operations, Mississippi Public Broadcasting
Kevin Cooperpublisher, The Natchez Democrat
Merrit "Pic" Firmin, former editor of The Delta Democrat Times and The Sun Herald
Allan Nationeditor and publisher, The Stockman Grass Farmer
Hank Pricepresident and general manager, WXII-TV
Randy Swannews director and main anchor, WDAM-TV 

May, 2010
Dr. Mazharul Haqueprofessor

November, 2009
Rick and Beth Biceowners of Bice Advertising, Inc.
Dr. John Forde, APR, communications department chair and professor, Mississippi State University 
Reed Guice, owner of The Guice Agency
Rex Kelly, communication executive, Mississippi Power (retired)
Mart Martin, creative director, Jackson Spalding
Danny Mitchell, senior partner and chairman of the board, GodwinGroup
Lt. Col. Roger Steven Murray, communications director, Florida Department of Veterans' Affairs
Donna Ritchey, APRpartner and executive vice president, GodwinGroup
Peter Rogers, owner of Peter Rogers Associates (retired)
Dr. Barbara Shoemake, professor
Cindy Smartt, owner of Smartt Entertainment, Inc

April, 2009
Nan Kelley, Great American Country television personality

February, 2009
Dr. Arthur J. Kaul, professor

November, 2008
Larry Albers, film professor
John Duffy, film and television editor
Jennifer Ogden, film producer
Patrik-Ian Polk, film and television writer-director-producer
David Sheffield, film and television writer

April, 2008
Bill Phalenowner of Cities West Publishing, Inc.

November, 2007
Natalie Allen, broadcast journalist
Jim Bishop, professor
Charles Dunagin, newspaper editor
Lisa Hitt, newspaper editor
Chuck Kershner, newspaper editor and publisher
Carol Bagley McPhail, newspaper reporter and editorial writer
Bill Minor, political reporter and columnist
W.C. “Dub” Shoemaker, newspaper editor and publisher
Cathy Straight, newspaper editor
Jean Goodloe, newspaper editor
Goodloe Sutton, newspaper editor (Removed from Hall of Fame as of February 19, 2019; see statement here.)

October, 2007
Steve Gardner, photojournalist
Tim Isbell, photojournalist
Ted Jackson, photojournalist
Michael McCarter, photojournalist
Jeff McAdory, photojournalist
Marianne Todd, photojournalist
Ed Wheeler, photojournalism professor

April, 2007
Dr. Robert Gene Wiggins, professor
Kathleen Koch, broadcast journalist

Contact Us

School of Media and Communication

School of Media and Communication
106 College Hall
118 College Dr. #5121
Hattiesburg, MS 39406

Campus Hattiesburg

Campus Map