Skip navigation

Undergraduate Research

Center Administration


Mission Statement

The Drapeau Center for Undergraduate Research (DCUR) functions as the university hub for coordinating and communicating opportunities for undergraduate research and creative activities to the university community and administers grant programs that support the scholarly and creative efforts of our undergraduate students.


Council on Undergraduate Research

The Drapeau Center for Undergraduate Research is a member of the Council on Undergraduate Research (CUR), headquartered in Washington, DC. The Council sponsors the National Conference on Undergraduate Research, which is held each April. DCUR provides travel support for selected USM students each year to attend this conference and present their scholarly and creative work.


DCUR Steering Committee

The operation and activities of the center are guided by the Steering Committee, which is composed of representatives from each of the Colleges, the Honors College, University Libraries, and the Office of the Vice President for Research. The 2018-19 members include:

  • Dr. Brigitte Burgess, College of Business and Economic Development
  • Dr. Nicholas Ciraldo, College of Arts and Sciences 
  • Dr. David Cochran, College of Arts and Sciences 
  • Ms. Tracy Englert, University Libraries
  • Dr. Sabine Heinhorst, Honors College
  • Ms. Jo Ann Johnson, Office of the Vice President for Research
  • Dr. Alan Shiller, College of Arts and Sciences
  • Dr. Hans Stadthagen-Gonzalez, College of Education and Human Sciences
  • Dr. Lachel Story, College of Nursing and Health Professions
  • Dr. Rebecca Tuuri, College of Arts and Sciences
  • Dr. Ellen Weinauer, Honors College
  • Ms. Cyndi Wyles, Office of the Vice President for Research


Contact a DCUR representative:

Dr.%20Sabine%20Heinhorst for all questions about DCUR

Ms.%20Jo%20Ann%20Johnson for questions related to DCUR grant processes

The University of Southern Mississippi
Drapeau Center for Undergraduate Research
118 College Dr. #5162
Hattiesburg, MS 39406-0001



Undergraduate Symposium Logo

Contact a member of the UGS Planning Committee in your area of interest for questions related to conventions of presentations in your discipline.

Contact Dr.%20Sabine%20Heinhorst or Dr.%20Ellen%20Weinauer for questions related to abstract submission or registration, UGS schedule or program, judging or moderating.

Contact Professor%20Brianna%20Jahn-Malinowski or Professor%20Allen%20Chen for questions related to the Arts Showcase.