Skip navigation

Center for the Study of the Gulf South

Faculty

Center for the Study of the Gulf South Faculty  

Faculty Publications

 

Douglas Bristol

Dr. Douglas Bristol

Co-Director of the Center for the Study of the Gulf South and Associate Professor of History

 

douglas.bristol@usm.edu

Rebecca Tuuri

Dr. Rebecca Tuuri

Co-Director of the Center for the Study of the Gulf South and Associate Professor of History

CV

Areas of interest:

  • History of the Civil Rights Movement
  • African American History
  • U.S. Women’s and Gender History
  • Southern Women’s History

 

rebecca.tuuri@usm.edu

Matthew Casey 

Dr. Matthew Casey

Center for the Study of the Gulf South faculty, Director of the School of Humanities and Associate Professor of History

CV

Areas of interest:

  • Latin American and Caribbean History
  • US Imperialism in the Twentieth Century Caribbean
  • Race, Labor and Migration

 

matthew.casey@usm.edu

Douglas Chambers 

Dr. Douglas Chambers

Center for the Study of the Gulf South faculty and Associate Professor of History

 

douglas.chambers@usm.edu

Kevin Greene

Dr. Kevin Greene

Center for the Study of the Gulf South faculty and Assistant Professor of History

 

kevin.greene@usm.edu

Grivno 

Dr. Max Grivno

Center for the Study of the Gulf South faculty and Associate Professor of History

 

max.grivno@usm.edu

Joshua Haynes

Dr. Joshua Haynes

Center for the Study of the Gulf South faculty and Assistant Professor of History

CV

Areas of interest:

  • The Native South
  • Colonialism, violence, and state formation in the Native South
  • Ways of war and diplomacy in the Native South
  • The American Revolution in the Gulf South

 

joshua.haynes@usm.edu

Deanne Stephens

Dr. Deanne Stephens

Center for the Study of the Gulf South faculty and Professor of History

 

deanne.nuwer@usm.edu

Susannah Ural

Dr. Susannah Ural

Center for the Study of the Gulf South faculty and Professor of History

CV

Areas of interest:

  • U.S. Civil War and Reconstruction
  • Nineteenth-century America
  • U.S. Military History/War and Society
  • Mississippi and the American South
  • Digital History

 

susannah.ural@usm.edu

 

 

Contact Us

Center for the Study of the Gulf South
346 Liberal Arts Building (LAB)
118 College Dr. #5047
Hattiesburg, MS 39406

Hattiesburg Campus

Campus Map

Phone
601.266.4320

Contact Us

Elizabeth Hall (EH)
730 East Beach Boulevard
Long Beach, MS 39560

Gulf Park Campus

Campus Map

Phone
228.214.3245