Skip navigation

Fay B. Kaigler Children's Book Festival

Scholarships at the Festival

Page Content

We are currently accepting nominations for the 2024 Kaigler-Lamont Award and the Richard Peck Scholarship.

The Kaigler-Lamont Award is awarded each year to a children’s or school librarian for distinguished accomplishments in promoting children’s reading in Mississippi schools and public libraries. The award is presented annually at The University of Southern Mississippi School of Library and Information Science Fay B. Kaigler Children’s Book Festival.

The winner of the Kaigler-Lamont Award receives:

  • Recognition at the 2024 Fay B. Kaigler Children's Book Festival
  • Plaque
  • $500 honorarium
  • $500 honorarium to purchase books for their library

2024 nominations are due February 16, 2024.

2024 Kaigler-Lamont Nomination Form

Richard Peck Scholarship Information

1998- Mattie Rials

1999- Lawana Cummings and Charjean Graves

2000- Sybil Hanna

2001- Sherry Donald

2002- Linda E. Sikes

2003- Gerrie Ann Weldon

2004- Vickie Ross

2005- Victoria Penny

2006- Carol Phares

2007- Ramona Barrett

2008- Sally James

2009- Linda Perez

2011- Faye Harris Bruce

2012- Dianne Butler

2013- Elizabeth Turner

2014- Tracey H. Crawford

2015- Kathie Ward

2016- Becky Smith

2017- Nettie Moore

2018- Venetia Oglesby

2019- Jennifer Baker

2020- Beckie Nieman

2021- Connie Robinson and Loraine Walker

2022- Otha Keys

2023- Becky Bowen


Contact Us

Fay B. Kaigler Children's Book Festival

Southern Miss SLIS
118 College Dr. #5146
Hattiesburg, MS 39406

Hattiesburg Campus

Campus Map