Skip navigation

Fay B. Kaigler Children's Book Festival

The Fay B. Kaigler - Ruth Lamont Award

Page Content


The Kaigler-Lamont Award recognizes distinguished accomplishments in promoting children’s reading by librarians and teachers in Mississippi schools and by children’s librarians in the public libraries of Mississippi.  Nominated individuals must demonstrate that they go beyond packaged programs such as AR to instill a love of reading.

The winner of the Kaigler-Lamont Award receives:

  • Free registration to the Children's Book Festival
  • Plaque
  • $500 honorarium
  • $500 honorarium to purchase books for your library

2020 nominations for the Kaigler-Lamont Award are due December 6, 2019.

Kaigler Lamont Award Nomination Submission


The first presentation of the Kaigler-Lamont Award was made in 1998.  The generous financial support of Fay Kaigler of McComb, Miss., has made the award possible. Miss Kaigler was well-known for her love of children and devoted herself for many years as an elementary school teacher to enhancing books and reading in the lives of children.  Her students were soon hooked on books.  In retirement, she continued to promote books and reading in her local public library.  Her dear friend, Ruth Lamont, who for many years was a successful school librarian in Baton Rouge, La., shared her passion for making books integral to children’s lives.

Recipients of the Kaigler-Lamont Award

  • 1998- Mattie Rials, Children’s Librarian, Pike-Amite-Walthall Public Library System, McComb 
  • 1999- Lawana Cummings, Library Media Specialist, St. Martin East Elementary, Ocean Springs and Charjean Graves, Library Media Specialist, William Jones Elementary School, Hattiesburg 
  • 2000- Sybil Hanna, Children’s Librarian, Jackson Hinds County Public Library, Jackson 
  • 2001- Sherry Donald, Library Media Specialist, Oxford Elementary School, Oxford
  • 2002- Linda E. Sikes, Library Media Specialist, Beechwood Elementary School, Vicksburg
  • 2003- Gerrie Ann Weldon, Library Media Specialist, Bayou View Elementary School, Gulfport
  • 2004- Vickie Ross, Branch Manager of the Okolona Carnegie Library in the Dixie Regional Library System
  • 2005- Victoria Penny, Youth Services Coordinator at the First Regional Library System
  • 2006- Carol Phares, Assistant Director and Children’s Librarian, Pearl River County Library System
  • 2007- Ramona Barrett, Children’s Librarian, Clarksdale Public Library
  • 2008- Sally James, Children’s Librarian, Pass Christian Public Library
  • 2009- Linda Perez, Elementary Librarian, Madison Station Elementary
  • 2011- Faye Harris Bruce, Library and Media Specialist, Saltillo Elementary School
  • 2012- Dianne Butler, Library and Media Specialist, Magee Middle School
  • 2013- Elizabeth Turner, Children's Specialist, Madison Public Library
  • 2014- Tracey H. Crawford, School Librarian, Mendenhall Elementary
  • 2015- Kathie Ward, Branch Manager, Harrisville Public Library
  • 2016- Becky Smith, Librarian, Purvis Upper Elementary School
  • 2017- Nettie Moore, Youth Specialist, M.R. Davis Public Library
  • 2018- Venetia Oglesby, Head Librarian, New Hope Elementary School
  • 2019- Jennifer Baker, Library Media Specialist, Spann Elementary School

Contact Us

Fay B. Kaigler Children's Book Festival

Southern Miss SLIS
118 College Dr. #5146
Hattiesburg, MS 39406

Hattiesburg Campus

Campus Map