Skip navigation

College of Education and Human Sciences

Licensure Programs

 

Southern Miss offers initial teacher licensure programs at the traditional undergraduate level, alternate-route certificate level, or alternate-route graduate level for graduates wishing to teach in Mississippi.  We also offer advanced licensure programs and programs for other school professionals at the graduate level. We do not guarantee to meet the licensure requirements of other states.  You will be responsible for verifying that your program of study meets your desired state‚Äôs licensure requirements.

Each of the programs listed below are approved for initial licensure in the state of Mississippi. If you are seeking licensure in another state, you will need to first obtain your Mississippi license and then applying as an out-of-state candidate for licensure.  Each state has specific licensure requirements: the following are some examples of the types of state requirements for out-of-state licensure: specific test scores on Praxis, background checks and additional coursework.  For specific information, please contact Jennifer Wild.

Below you can find websites and contact information for all our educator preparation programs.

Traditional Route Undergraduate Initial Teacher Licensure Preparation Programs

  • BS Biological Sciences (Licensure)
    • Grade Levels: 7-12
    • Contact for Hattiesburg: Dr. Allison Downing (allison.downing@usm.edu)
    • Location of Program Offered: Hattiesburg and Gulf Park
    • SPA National Recognition by: National Science Teachers Association  
  • BS Chemistry (Licensure)
    • Grade Levels: 7-12
    • Contact: Dr. Deborah Booth (deborah.booth@usm.edu)
    • Location of Program Offered: Hattiesburg
    • SPA National Recognition by: National Science Teachers Association
  • BS Physics (Licensure)
    • Grade Levels: 9-12
    • Contact: Dr. Chris Sirola (christopher.sirola@usm.edu)
    • Location of Program Offered: Hattiesburg
    • SPA National Recognition by: National Science Teachers Association
  • BS Mathematics (Licensure)
    • Grade Levels: 7-12
    • Contact for Hattiesburg: Susan Ross (susan.ross@usm.edu)
    • Contact for Gulf Park: Marlene Naquin (marlene.naquin@usm.edu)
    • Location of Program Offered: Hattiesburg and Gulf Park
    • SPA National Recognition with Conditions by: National Council of Teachers of Mathematics
  • BS Kinesiology (Physical Education Licensure)
    • Grade Levels: K-12
    • Contact: Dr. Nancy Speed (nancy.speed@usm.edu)
    • Location of Program Offered: Hattiesburg
    • SPA National Recognition by: National Association for Sport and Physical Education (now known as SHAPE America-Physical Education
  • BS Special Education (Licensure)
    • Grade Levels: K-12
    • Contact: Dr. Audra Classen (audra.classen@usm.edu)
    • Location of Program Offered: Hattiesburg and Gulf Park
    • SPA National Recognition by: Council for Exceptional Children
  • BS Elementary Education (Licensure)
    • Grade Levels: K-6
    • Contact: Dr. Stacy Reeves (stacy.reeves@usm.edu)
    • Location of Program Offered: Hattiesburg and Gulf Park
    • SPA National Recognition by: Association for Childhood Education International
  • BS Elementary Education (Licensure) - Teacher Assistant Pathway (TAP)
    • Grade Levels: K-6
    • Contact: Jennifer Finley (jennifer.finley@usm.edu)
    • Location of Program Offered: Online
    • SPA National Recognition by: Association for Childhood Education International
  • BS Elementary Education (Dual Licensure in Elementary Education and Special Education)
    • Grade Levels: K-12
    • Contact: Dr. Audra Classen (audra.classen@usm.edu)
    • Location of Program Offered: Hattiesburg and Gulf Park
    • SPA National Recognition by: Association for Childhood Educational International
  • BA English (Licensure)
    • Grade Levels: 7-12
    • Contact: Dr. Katherine Cochran (Katherine CochranFREEMississippi%29
    • Location of Program Offered: Hattiesburg and Gulf Park
    • SPA National Recognition by: National Council of Teachers of English
  • BA Foreign Languages (Licensure in Spanish)
    • Grade Levels: K-12
    • Contact: Dr. Laura Guglani (laura.guglani@usm.edu)
    • Location of Program Offered: Hattiesburg
    • SPA National Recognition by: American Council on Teaching of Foreign Languages
  • BA Foreign Languages (Licensure in French)
    • Grade Levels: K-12
    • Contact: Dr. Joanne Burnett (joanne.burnett@usm.edu)
    • Location of Program Offered: Hattiesburg
    • SPA National Recognition by: American Council on Teaching of Foreign Languages
  • BA History (Licensure in Social Studies)
    • Grade Levels: 7-12
    • Contact for Hattiesburg: Dr. Jill Abney (jill.abney@usm.edu)
    • Location of Program Offered: Hattiesburg and Gulf Park
    • SPA National Recognition by: National Council for the Social Studies
  • BMEd Music Education (Instrumental Licensure)
    • Grade Levels: K-12
    • Contact: Stacey Miles (stacey.miles@usm.edu)
    • Location of Program Offered: Hattiesburg
    • Accredited by: National Association of Schools of Music
  • BMEd Music Education (Choral Licensure)
    • Grade Levels: K-12
    • Contact: Stacey Miles (stacey.miles@usm.edu)
    • Location of Program Offered: Hattiesburg
    • Accredited by: National Association of Schools of Music

Alternate Route Initial Teacher Licensure Preparation Programs

  • JumpStart for Undergraduates (Alternate Route Pathway to get a JumpStart into MAT or TMI)
    • Grade Levels: 7-12
    • Contact: Dr. Jay Howell (james.b.howell@usm.edu)
    • Location of Program Offered: Hattiesburg and Gulf Park 

Advanced Graduate Degree Teacher Programs 

  • MS Science Education (Biology, Chemistry, Earth and Environmental, Mathematics, or Physics Licensure)
    • Grade Levels: 7-12
    • Contact: Dr. Sherry Herron (sherry.herron@usm.edu)
    • Location of Program offered: Hattiesburg
  • MS Kinesiology (Physical Education Licensure)
    • Grade Levels: K-12
    • Contact: Dr. Nancy Speed (nancy.speed@usm.edu)
    • Location of Program Offered: Fully Online
  • MEd Special Education 
    • Grade Levels: K-12
    • Contact: Dr. Sandra Nichols (sandra.nichols@usm.edu)
    • Location of Program Offered: Online
  • MME Music Education (Licensure)
    • Grade Levels: K-12
    • Contact: Stacey Miles (stacey.miles@usm.edu)
    • Location of Program Offered: Hattiesburg
    • Accredited by: National Association of Schools of Music 
  • PhD Science Education (Biology, Chemistry, Earth, Mathematics, or Physics Licensure)
    • Grade Levels: 7-12
    • Contact: Dr. Sherry Herron (sherry.herron@usm.edu)
    • Location of Program Offered: Hattiesburg
  • PhD Music Education 
    • Grade Levels: K-12
    • Contact: Stacey Miles (stacey.miles@usm.edu)
    • Location of Program Offered: Hattiesburg
    • Accredited by: National Association of Schools of Music

Advanced Educator Preparation Programs for Other School Professionals

  • MLIS Library and Information Science (Licensure)
    • Grade Levels: K-12
    • Contact: Dr. Teresa Welsh (teresa.welsh@usm.edu)
    • Location of Program Offered: Online
    • Accredited by: American Library Association
  • MEd Educational Administration and Supervision (Building)
    • Grade Levels: K-12
    • Contact: Dr. Myron Labat (myron.labat@usm.edu)
    • Location of Program Offered: Online
    • SPA National Recognition by: Educational Leadership Constituent Council
  • PhD Special Education 
    • Grade Levels: K-12
    • Contact: Dr. Sandra Nichols (sandra.nichols@usm.edu)
    • Location of Program Offered: Hattiesburg 
  • PhD School Psychology 
    • Grade Levels:
    • Contact: Dr. Evan Dart (evan.dart@usm.edu)
    • Location of Program Offered: Hattiesburg
    • Accredited by: American Psychological Association

Contact Us

College of Education and Human Sciences

127 Joseph Greene Hall (JGH) 
118 College Dr. #5023
Hattiesburg, MS 39406

Campus Hattiesburg

Campus Map

Phone
601.266.4568

Contact Us

College of Education and Human Sciences

320 Hardy Hall 
730 East Beach Boulevard
Long Beach, MS 39560

Campus Gulf Park

Campus Map

Phone
228.214.3340