Skip navigation

College of Education and Human Sciences

Licensure Programs

Southern Miss offers initial teacher licensure programs at the traditional undergraduate level, alternate-route certificate level, or alternate-route graduate level for graduates wishing to teach in Mississippi.  We also offer advanced licensure programs and programs for other school professionals at the graduate level. We do not guarantee to meet the licensure requirements of other states.  You will be responsible for verifying that your program of study meets your desired state‚Äôs licensure requirements.

Each of the programs listed below are approved for initial licensure in the state of Mississippi. If you are seeking licensure in another state, you will need to first obtain your Mississippi license and then applying as an out-of-state candidate for licensure.  Each state has specific licensure requirements: the following are some examples of the types of state requirements for out-of-state licensure: specific test scores on Praxis, background checks and additional coursework.  For specific information, please contact Jennifer Wild.

Below you can find websites and contact information for all our educator preparation programs.

Traditional Route Undergraduate Initial Teacher Licensure Preparation Programs

-Grade Levels: 7-12

-Contact for Hattiesburg: Dr. Allison Downing (allison.downing@usm.edu)

-Location of Program Offered: Hattiesburg and Gulf Park 

-SPA National Recognition by: National Science Teachers Association  

-Grade Levels: 7-12

-Contact: Dr. Deborah Booth (deborah.booth@usm.edu)

-Location of Program Offered: Hattiesburg

-SPA National Recognition by: National Science Teachers Association

-Grade Levels: 9-12

-Contact: Dr. Chris Sirola (christopher.sirola@usm.edu)

-Location of Program Offered: Hattiesburg

-SPA National Recognition by: National Science Teachers Association

-Grade Levels: 7-12

-Contact for Hattiesburg: Susan Ross (susan.ross@usm.edu)

-Contact for Gulf Park: Marlene Naquin (marlene.naquin@usm.edu)

-Location of Program Offered: Hattiesburg and Gulf Park

-SPA National Recognition with Conditions by: National Council of Teachers of Mathematics

-Grade Levels: K-12

-Contact: Dr. Nancy Speed (nancy.speed@usm.edu)

-Location of Program Offered: Hattiesburg

-SPA National Recognition by: National Association for Sport and Physical Education (now known as SHAPE America-Physical Education

-Grade Levels: K-12

-Contact: Dr. Nancy Speed (nancy.speed@usm.edu)

-Location of Program Offered: Hattiesburg

-SPA National Recognition by: National Association for Sport and Physical Education (now known as SHAPE America-Physical Education

-Grade Levels: K-12

-Contact: Dr. Audra Classen (audra.classen@usm.edu)

-Location of Program Offered: Hattiesburg and Gulf Park

-SPA National Recognition by: Council for Exceptional Children

-Grade Levels: K-6

-Contact: Dr. Stacy Reeves (stacy.reeves@usm.edu)

-Location of Program Offered: Hattiesburg and Gulf Park

-SPA National Recognition by: Association for Childhood Education International

-Grade Levels: K-6

-Contact: Jennifer Finley (jennifer.finley@usm.edu)

-Location of Program Offered: Online

-SPA National Recognition by: Association for Childhood Education International

-Grade Levels: K-12

-Contact: Dr. Audra Classen (audra.classen@usm.edu)

-Location of Program Offered: Hattiesburg and Gulf Park

-SPA National Recognition by: Association for Childhood Educational International

-Grade Levels: 7-12

-Contact: Dr. Katherine Cochran (Katherine Cochran@usm.edu)

-Location of Program Offered: Hattiesburg and Gulf Park

-SPA National Recognition by: National Council of Teachers of English

-Grade Levels: K-12

-Contact: Dr. Laura Guglani (laura.guglani@usm.edu)

-Location of Program Offered: Hattiesburg

-SPA National Recognition by: American Council on Teaching of Foreign Languages

-Grade Levels: K-12

-Contact: Dr. Joanne Burnett (joanne.burnett@usm.edu)

-Location of Program Offered: Hattiesburg

-SPA National Recognition by: American Council on Teaching of Foreign Languages

-Grade Levels: 7-12

-Contact for Hattiesburg: Dr. Jill Abney (jill.abney@usm.edu)

-Location of Program Offered: Hattiesburg and Gulf Park

-SPA National Recognition by: National Council for the Social Studies

-Grade Levels: K-12

-Contact: Julie White (julie.h.white@usm.edu)

-Location of Program Offered: Hattiesburg

-Accredited by: National Association of Schools of Dance

-Grade Levels: K-12

-Contact: Stacey Miles (stacey.miles@usm.edu)

-Location of Program Offered: Hattiesburg

-Accredited by: National Association of Schools of Music

-Grade Levels: K-12

-Contact: Stacey Miles (stacey.miles@usm.edu)

-Location of Program Offered: Hattiesburg

-Accredited by: National Association of Schools of Music

Alternate Route Initial Teacher Licensure Preparation Programs

-Grade Levels: 7-12

-Contact: Dr. Jay Howell (james.b.howell@usm.edu)

-Location of Program Offered: Hattiesburg 

-Grade Levels: 7-12

-Contact: Dr. Jay Howell (james.b.howell@usm.edu)

-Location of Program Offered: Hattiesburg and Gulf Park

-Grade Levels: 7-12

-Contact: Dr. Jay Howell (james.b.howell@usm.edu)

-Location of Program Offered: Hattiesburg and Gulf Park 

Advanced Graduate Degree Teacher Programs 

-Grade Levels: 7-12

-Contact: Dr. Monika Gehlawat (monika.gehlawat@usm.edu)

-Location of Program Offered: Hattiesburg

  • MS Science Education (Biology, Chemistry, Earth and Environmental, Mathematics, or Physics Licensure)

-Grade Levels: 7-12

-Contact: Dr. Sherry Herron (sherry.herron@usm.edu)

-Location of Program offered: Hattiesburg

-Grade Levels: K-12

-Contact: Dr. Nancy Speed (nancy.speed@usm.edu)

-Location of Program Offered: Fully Online

-Grade Levels: K-6

-Contact: Dr. Stacy Reeves (stacy.reeves@usm.edu)

-Location of Program Offered: Online

-Grade Levels:

-Contact: Dr. Sandra Nichols (sandra.nichols@usm.edu)

-Location of Program Offered:  Hattiesburg

-Grade Levels: K-12

-Contact: Dr. Sandra Nichols (sandra.nichols@usm.edu)

-Location of Program Offered: Online

-Grade Levels: K-12

-Contact: Stacey Miles (stacey.miles@usm.edu)

-Location of Program Offered: Hattiesburg

-Accredited by: National Association of Schools of Music 

-Grade Levels: 7-12

-Contact: Dr. Sherry Herron (sherry.herron@usm.edu) 

-Location of Program Offered: Hattiesburg

-Grade Levels: K-12

-Contact: Stacey Miles (stacey.miles@usm.edu)

-Location of Program Offered: Hattiesburg

-Accredited by: National Association of Schools of Music

Advanced Educator Preparation Programs for Other School Professionals

-Grade Levels: Childbirth through Kindergarten

-Contact: Dr. Marietta Paterson (marietta.paterson@usm.edu)

-Location of Program Offered: Hattiesburg

-Accredited by: American Speech-Language-Hearing Association

-Grade Levels: K-12

-Contact: Dr. Teresa Welsh (teresa.welsh@usm.edu)

-Location of Program Offered: Online

-Accredited by: American Library Association

-Grade Levels: K-12

-Contact: Dr. Myron Labat (myron.labat@usm.edu)

-Location of Program Offered: Online

-SPA National Recognition by: Educational Leadership Constituent Council

-Grade Levels: 

-Contact: Dr. Chelsey Hess-Holden (chelsey.hessholden@usm.edu)

-Location of Program Offered: Hattiesburg

-Grade Levels: P-12

-Contact: Dr. Myron Labat (myron.labat@usm.edu)

-Location of Program Offered: Hattiesburg

-SPA National Recognition by: Educational Leadership Constituent Council

-Grade Levels: P-12

-Contact: Dr. Myron Labat (myron.labat@usm.edu)

-Location of Program Offered: Hattiesburg

-SPA National Recognition by: Educational Leadership Constituent Council

-Grade Levels: K-12

-Contact: Dr. Sandra Nichols (sandra.nichols@usm.edu)

-Location of Program Offered: Hattiesburg 

-Grade Levels: P-12

-Contact: Dr. Myron Labat (myron.labat@usm.edu)

-Location of Program Offered: Hattiesburg

-SPA National Recognition by: Educational Leadership Constituent Council

-Grade Levels:

-Contact: Dr. Evan Dart (evan.dart@usm.edu)

-Location of Program Offered: Hattiesburg

-Accredited by: American Psychological Association

Contact Us

College of Education and Human Sciences

116 Owings-McQuagge Hall (OMH) 
118 College Dr. #5023
Hattiesburg, MS 39406

Campus Hattiesburg

Campus Map

Phone
601.266.4568

Contact Us

College of Education and Human Sciences

320 Hardy Hall 
730 East Beach Boulevard
Long Beach, MS 39560

Campus Gulf Park

Campus Map

Phone
228.214.3340